Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I grew some fennel for the first time and didn't know what to do with it. Tried this recipe since it was quick and easy. I was really surprised how good it was. I used chicken broth and then topped with a few green onion-really good. I might try adding potatoes and other root vegetables in the future, maybe even pureeing everything with cream but the recipe is good just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Great easy soup for spring or fall. We did add (yellow new) potatoes and after the first bowl topped with green onion. This recipe would also be easy to modify and add other ingredients, such as root vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Great recipe, but instead of veg broth I used chicken, and while simmering I added a whole unchopped garlic clove. just before serving I added a little chopped shallot as well. Yummy and pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jiffy24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made this minus the butter and then mashed up the fennel to make the soup. It was tasty but warning that fennel is somewhat of a laxative. Good for diet lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I found this recipe very fennel friendly for one who had never cooked it before. I almost threw out the fennel bulb - thankfully checked out all recipes first. I made similar changes as others - added 4 yukon gold potaoes, 2 cans of chicken broth, and blended with a stick blender. Tastey and hearty - no hint of licorice. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookins3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
So easy and delicious. I get organic fruits/vegs delivered to my door, and my box contained fennel this week. I have never cooked with it before and decided to try this recipe. I only used 1 fennel bulb, and added cubed potato to bulk it up. I pureed some of it so that it had a creamy texture but still contained chunks of fennel and potato. I just ate 3 bowls.....I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Good recipe - I didn't have vegetable broth on hand, so used water, some garlic powder, parsley, basil, dash of olive oil, and a small tomato. Fennel flavor is mild as others have said. I would definitely say the butter should be reduced, likely by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Wow! So wonderful and unexpected! I absolutely love this soup. I made it as a starter for a fancy dinner party, and everyone loved it. The first question was 'what is in this?' It seems most people have never even tried fennel. I made 2 changes. I cubed the fennel since my bulbs were large, and I used half veg broth and half chicken broth. This is one of my absolute favorite soup recipes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseanneM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Tasty and easy to make. I made as directed and took the suggestion from another review to add cubed potatoes. I added two dollops of sour cream when cool and a dash of onion powder. Then I blended in food processor for a fancier soup. However, it was fine just as made from the stove. I thought the fronds would make a nice garnish but found them too tough and lacking the fennel flavor. This is a great alternative from the same old, same old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beecee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very tasty and easy soup! I used olive oil and added some spices but even without these changes I think it would've been good. The taste of fennel is very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States