Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I never used fennel before, and am amazed at the results of this fennel soup. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
We loved this! Made with two large bulbs from our CSA and the listed amount of broth. Perfect for a cold central NY night while we await election results. I puréed it, too and my wife marveled at how creamy it seemed. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Even though I consider myself a quite good and well versed cook, until now I had never cooked with fresh fennel. It had just never occurred to me. A friend brought me some beautiful fennel from the organic veggie co-op she uses. I just made this soup tonight. I did it just as the author said, then halved the finished product. I left half just as it was, and to the other half I added some diced onion, milk, some of the fennel leaves and extra fresh ground pepper. I pureed my version in the blender. Both are fantastic and totally different. I love the author's version for an autumn dish served hot and would go beautifully with lamb, and I think mine would be very nice as a cold soup for summer, with chicken or fish. It's chilling right now. I'm pleased to find such a simple and versatile recipe for such an interesting and underrated vegetable. I intend to make it again and again, trying different things here and there. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terryjfisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Fabulous! I wasn't sure when to put the potatoes in, so found a recipe for fennel and purple potatoes, saw that they recommended cooking the fennel for 5 minutes before adding the potatoes and cooking for about 15 minutes more in the broth. I used plenty of Himalayan sea salt and pepper. I think I will add red onion next time when I'm cooking the fennel, but it was easy and wonderful just like this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
this was awesome! the only change I made was to add some diced potato on the advice of other reviews. Spectacularly easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phairber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is a really simple, delicious soup option. The fennel really is so mellow. I used olive oil instead for a non-dairy version, but I'm not sure I got the proportions right, because it was pretty oily. I really don't think you need a lot of oil - just enough to keep the fennel sauteing for 10 min. I'm interested in any additional spices or veggies that people have added in.....thoughts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Yum. Followed the suggestion to add potatoes and to puree. Turned out great. I'll admit I was pretty skeptical about the fennel I received in my co-op box, but after trying this soup I would buy it outright. Love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Dee-licious! Very easy, followed the recipe nearly to a T, although I seasoned the soup immediately after adding the broth (light garlic powder, salt, black pepper) and used a hand blender to cream it up a bit. One pot, few ingredients and fast for an impressive soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
The only reason I made this was I received a fennel in my bountiful basket. I actually wasnt sure what it was at first. Anyways, I thought I would try this. It was awesome. My family loved it and there were no leftovers. I did add a few potatoes like others had and blended some of it to make it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZDSRTROZE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parks, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Excellent! Easy to make. Healthy. Delicious. My kids love this soup. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States