Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I've never had fennel before so this was a wonderful surprise treat for me. It oozed sophistication with just the right amount of beauty when plated. After reading reviews, I decided to add 2 medium potatoes to the soup which in my eyes puts this recipe at 5 stars. The potatoes added a slight richness and creamy texture once pureed. Without the potatoes, I feel the recipe is still good and worthy of 4+ stars. Used the 1/4 cup smart balance spread to cut calories and it was still buttery and delicious. Fresh cracked sea salt and pepper with a dollop of sour cream on the soup before serving... So tasty!! Next time I will also garnish with scallions or fresh chopped parsley on top of sour cream. I'm a fan of fennel now :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
The whole house smells as good as it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I was out of vegetable broth so I used chicken broth instead. I'm not a fennel fan at all but I loved this soup! It was quick and so good the family cleaned the pot! Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Delicious! Even the huz loved it. Four stars instead of five only because I altered the original recipe. Used olive oil instead of butter to saute. Coarse chopped fennel bulbs instead of only quartering. Added whole cloves of garlic and cubed yukon gold potatoes. Used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Used an immersion blender to thicken the soup but left some big chunks of fennel, potatoes, and garlic. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I followed a reviewers suggestion and pureed this soup and it was delicious and elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
When I tasted it, I felt like a Lord. It tastes classy, if that's even possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I never used fennel before, and am amazed at the results of this fennel soup. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
We loved this! Made with two large bulbs from our CSA and the listed amount of broth. Perfect for a cold central NY night while we await election results. I puréed it, too and my wife marveled at how creamy it seemed. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Even though I consider myself a quite good and well versed cook, until now I had never cooked with fresh fennel. It had just never occurred to me. A friend brought me some beautiful fennel from the organic veggie co-op she uses. I just made this soup tonight. I did it just as the author said, then halved the finished product. I left half just as it was, and to the other half I added some diced onion, milk, some of the fennel leaves and extra fresh ground pepper. I pureed my version in the blender. Both are fantastic and totally different. I love the author's version for an autumn dish served hot and would go beautifully with lamb, and I think mine would be very nice as a cold soup for summer, with chicken or fish. It's chilling right now. I'm pleased to find such a simple and versatile recipe for such an interesting and underrated vegetable. I intend to make it again and again, trying different things here and there. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terryjfisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Fabulous! I wasn't sure when to put the potatoes in, so found a recipe for fennel and purple potatoes, saw that they recommended cooking the fennel for 5 minutes before adding the potatoes and cooking for about 15 minutes more in the broth. I used plenty of Himalayan sea salt and pepper. I think I will add red onion next time when I'm cooking the fennel, but it was easy and wonderful just like this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States