Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
NICE RECIPE. I'M NOT A BIG FAN OF FENNEL, BUT MY HUSBAND IS , SO I MADE THIS FOR HIM. HE LOVED IT. NICE FOR SOMETHING DIFFERENT. I FOLLOWED IT EXACTLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This recipe introduced my brother to fennel, which he has now declared "the perfect vegetable". It's a great recipe for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
i still cant believe how good this recipe is! i boil some chicken and use the chicken broth. its the easiest recipe in the world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creative cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Oh, my! I'm pretty sure they serve this soup in heaven, that's how good it is! Per other reviewers, I added some diced potato and pureed the soup before serving. Also, I double the recipe, but kept the butter amount the same and it was still rich and delicious! Finally, instead of the onion powder suggested by some, I sauteed some green onion tops with the fennel instead. This has been added to our Thanksgiving menu for this year, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I followed the direction of others and added 2 potatos and a leek. I also added the sourcream, then pured the soup. It is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I grew some fennel for the first time and didn't know what to do with it. Tried this recipe since it was quick and easy. I was really surprised how good it was. I used chicken broth and then topped with a few green onion-really good. I might try adding potatoes and other root vegetables in the future, maybe even pureeing everything with cream but the recipe is good just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Great easy soup for spring or fall. We did add (yellow new) potatoes and after the first bowl topped with green onion. This recipe would also be easy to modify and add other ingredients, such as root vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Great recipe, but instead of veg broth I used chicken, and while simmering I added a whole unchopped garlic clove. just before serving I added a little chopped shallot as well. Yummy and pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jiffy24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made this minus the butter and then mashed up the fennel to make the soup. It was tasty but warning that fennel is somewhat of a laxative. Good for diet lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I found this recipe very fennel friendly for one who had never cooked it before. I almost threw out the fennel bulb - thankfully checked out all recipes first. I made similar changes as others - added 4 yukon gold potaoes, 2 cans of chicken broth, and blended with a stick blender. Tastey and hearty - no hint of licorice. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookins3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States