Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Fabulous! I wasn't sure when to put the potatoes in, so found a recipe for fennel and purple potatoes, saw that they recommended cooking the fennel for 5 minutes before adding the potatoes and cooking for about 15 minutes more in the broth. I used plenty of Himalayan sea salt and pepper. I think I will add red onion next time when I'm cooking the fennel, but it was easy and wonderful just like this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
this was awesome! the only change I made was to add some diced potato on the advice of other reviews. Spectacularly easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phairber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is a really simple, delicious soup option. The fennel really is so mellow. I used olive oil instead for a non-dairy version, but I'm not sure I got the proportions right, because it was pretty oily. I really don't think you need a lot of oil - just enough to keep the fennel sauteing for 10 min. I'm interested in any additional spices or veggies that people have added in.....thoughts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Yum. Followed the suggestion to add potatoes and to puree. Turned out great. I'll admit I was pretty skeptical about the fennel I received in my co-op box, but after trying this soup I would buy it outright. Love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Dee-licious! Very easy, followed the recipe nearly to a T, although I seasoned the soup immediately after adding the broth (light garlic powder, salt, black pepper) and used a hand blender to cream it up a bit. One pot, few ingredients and fast for an impressive soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
The only reason I made this was I received a fennel in my bountiful basket. I actually wasnt sure what it was at first. Anyways, I thought I would try this. It was awesome. My family loved it and there were no leftovers. I did add a few potatoes like others had and blended some of it to make it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZDSRTROZE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parks, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Excellent! Easy to make. Healthy. Delicious. My kids love this soup. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I thought this soup was excellent, but would make some suggestions. I have never cooked with fennel and the ones I bought at the store were huge. I only bought two and thought it was plenty. I also did not realize the greens at the tops are too tough even if cooked, so just cut it down to the bulb. I did quarter my bulbs as instructed in the recipe but found it to be too big of pieces for a soup. I would advise cutting them into smaller pieces to make the soup easier to eat. I thought the 1/4 cup butter was the right amount because I had to brown so much fennel for the recipe. I agree with others that potatoe would make a nice addition to the fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is the best soup Fennel soup I have ever had the pleasure of trying! It's beautiful. It's light yet there is so much flavor going on. It's a perfect winter soup, comfort food, anytime soup. It's a must try for anyone that loves a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
i found this soup to be very bland. it definitely needs onions and more oomph. it was too late to add onions, so i added white wine at the end, and served it w/ a garnish of toasted pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States