Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I was out of vegetable broth so I used chicken broth instead. I'm not a fennel fan at all but I loved this soup! It was quick and so good the family cleaned the pot! Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Delicious! Even the huz loved it. Four stars instead of five only because I altered the original recipe. Used olive oil instead of butter to saute. Coarse chopped fennel bulbs instead of only quartering. Added whole cloves of garlic and cubed yukon gold potatoes. Used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Used an immersion blender to thicken the soup but left some big chunks of fennel, potatoes, and garlic. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I followed a reviewers suggestion and pureed this soup and it was delicious and elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
When I tasted it, I felt like a Lord. It tastes classy, if that's even possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I never used fennel before, and am amazed at the results of this fennel soup. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
We loved this! Made with two large bulbs from our CSA and the listed amount of broth. Perfect for a cold central NY night while we await election results. I puréed it, too and my wife marveled at how creamy it seemed. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Even though I consider myself a quite good and well versed cook, until now I had never cooked with fresh fennel. It had just never occurred to me. A friend brought me some beautiful fennel from the organic veggie co-op she uses. I just made this soup tonight. I did it just as the author said, then halved the finished product. I left half just as it was, and to the other half I added some diced onion, milk, some of the fennel leaves and extra fresh ground pepper. I pureed my version in the blender. Both are fantastic and totally different. I love the author's version for an autumn dish served hot and would go beautifully with lamb, and I think mine would be very nice as a cold soup for summer, with chicken or fish. It's chilling right now. I'm pleased to find such a simple and versatile recipe for such an interesting and underrated vegetable. I intend to make it again and again, trying different things here and there. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terryjfisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Fabulous! I wasn't sure when to put the potatoes in, so found a recipe for fennel and purple potatoes, saw that they recommended cooking the fennel for 5 minutes before adding the potatoes and cooking for about 15 minutes more in the broth. I used plenty of Himalayan sea salt and pepper. I think I will add red onion next time when I'm cooking the fennel, but it was easy and wonderful just like this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
this was awesome! the only change I made was to add some diced potato on the advice of other reviews. Spectacularly easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phairber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is a really simple, delicious soup option. The fennel really is so mellow. I used olive oil instead for a non-dairy version, but I'm not sure I got the proportions right, because it was pretty oily. I really don't think you need a lot of oil - just enough to keep the fennel sauteing for 10 min. I'm interested in any additional spices or veggies that people have added in.....thoughts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States