Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This soup was awesome. Super easy and delicious. I added red pepper flakes and some cranks of my "all-seasoning" spice grinder for flair, but the fennel becomes a fabulous texture and is so delicately flavored, the butter from cooking the fennel makes the soup feel just a little decadent. Next time I want to add some fish or shrimp, that would be awesome. It was a hit with my boyfriend who calls fennel "the sausage vegetable".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Webber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I have to say that this smelled terrible while it was cooking, but I am glad that I did not throw it out before trying it. I did not actually eat it until the following day, so all the flavours had time to meld together overnight. I followed the directions and did not make any changes or additions to the ingredients, although I did scale the recipe down to 2 servings and I pureed it. I thought it was a great pureed soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I loved this recipe. Have made it a few times. Today I mixed it up and made it with coconut oil vs butter. Sauted with garlic. Omitted the chicken stock and just added water, a dash of sea salt and red pepper flakes....WOW...AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Delicious! Even the kids liked it with a rustic bread for dipping. I pureed it in my cuisinart before serving, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly, cutting off the tops of the fennel totally. (I'd never cooked with it before.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tillie'sHeadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenyon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I admit I don't have much experience with eating fennel. With that said, this soup is okay. It gets stars for being very easy to make. I did not like the look of the soup and did what others did by blending it. It looks more appetizing now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Yep, add diced potatoes. I added some celery too, just for fun. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This recipe was delicious but it needed just a minor adjustment. I sautéed some potatoes with the fennel and then put the entire pot of soup in the blender and left it just a little chunky. I would definitely recommend this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
What a great recipe---minimal ingredients, easy to fix, and a very sophisticated, mild taste. If you like fennel at all, this is very tasty. Definitely something I'll use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Wow I've never actually had fennel before and when I first smelled it and tasted it I thought of those Italian cookies. My family has a farm share and we get veggies every week and this week included fennel. This soup is so simple yet amazing! I too added the potatoes and it took a bit longer to cook to soften both produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Burgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I followed some of the other suggestions: added some diced potatoes, blended about 1/2 of the soup to create a more creamy mixture. I also added about 3/4 of a lb of sauteed loose mild Italian sausage at the end for extra flavor. A great meal, easy, cheap and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States