Fennel Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Wow! This is awesome! I haven't even served it yet and I'm here to write a review. The fennel flavor is cut down but still softly present. Make sure you use fresh parmesan (I had some asiago), and don't be shy! I also doctored it a bit, but really not that much - used half the heavy cream and added an equal volume of milk, and splashed a bit of chardonnay + some oregano in there towards the end. I did not have arborio rice, so I used some thai rice. No worries there. My only complaint is that you have to hover over the pot, but the results are great and it was totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Really yummy taste and texture...after adding some salt. Also, I will chop the sliced fennel slices in half the next time I make it. I love risottos and I think this will become my favorite after tinkering with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was delicious. The flavor had a slight sweet taste (thank you fennel!) but wasn't extremely overpowering. It was creamy and wonderful. YUM! I made it for Christmas dinner alongside fennel roast rabbit and lemon basil carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I added peas to this recipe and replaced the parmesan and cream with goats cheese - delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
yummy risotto! First time making Risotto from scratch and it was great. Wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This is the best risotto I have ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkowal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Tasty. I thought the amount of fennel would be too much, but it isn't. I did find it too rich with the whipping cream so now I don't use it at all, I just increase the amount of broth. It still comes out creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Ok but not great. If I ever decide to make this dish again (which I doubt), I will dice the fennel real small. The big slices of fennel were too crunchy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Next time I'll use more vegetables in proportion to the rice (personal preference). I added mushrooms to the fennel and onion; I'll try zucchini in addition to that. I cut everything into large bite-size chunks, BTW, which worked well. The fennel was absolutely delicious in this context. I didn't have enough heavy cream so I used sour cream and milk to make up the 1 cup -- came out beautifully. My husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbopumpkin
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Wonderful vegetarian recipe! Just a few minor changes - I used light thick cream and also added some fresh mushrooms as well. Also used fresh parsley which I think gives it a bit more flavour than dried. Tasted quite yummy with some white wine! We were meant to have it as entrees before the roast turkey but hubby went back for a second plate in lieu of the main course...! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States