Fennel Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
my favorite risotto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plasticRobot
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Wow! This is awesome! I haven't even served it yet and I'm here to write a review. The fennel flavor is cut down but still softly present. Make sure you use fresh parmesan (I had some asiago), and don't be shy! I also doctored it a bit, but really not that much - used half the heavy cream and added an equal volume of milk, and splashed a bit of chardonnay + some oregano in there towards the end. I did not have arborio rice, so I used some thai rice. No worries there. My only complaint is that you have to hover over the pot, but the results are great and it was totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was delicious. The flavor had a slight sweet taste (thank you fennel!) but wasn't extremely overpowering. It was creamy and wonderful. YUM! I made it for Christmas dinner alongside fennel roast rabbit and lemon basil carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I added peas to this recipe and replaced the parmesan and cream with goats cheese - delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
yummy risotto! First time making Risotto from scratch and it was great. Wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This is the best risotto I have ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkowal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I made the recipe just as written except that I ran out of chicken stock so finished off the last couple of cups with white wine. I also used fresh parsley. It was a very subtle wonderful rich dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This risotto is wonderful, warm, yummy, creamy! Love it! Will definitely make again! Had never used whole Fennel before except in Fennel seed form in Spaghetti Sauce, it is a requirement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Followed this recipe to the letter and it was a hit! Excellent, excellent! Rich, creamy, what else is there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Love! I'm wondering though if the suggestion of 4 fennel bulbs is actually baby fennel? I went ahead and bought four large fennel bulbs here in Australia and it was just waaaaaaaaaaay too much to put in a risotto. But all's well that ends well - I froze half the fennel and am looking forward to making it again tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States