Fennel Cucumber Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
great recipe as is. I have made it several times. it is forgiving with substitutions like parsley instead of cilantro, no avocado, added drained and rinsed black beans, pickles instead of peppers. A keeper. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was the first time I've ever used fennel, I had everything on hand to make it so that's what I did. This was very easy tom put together. I did use lime instead of lemon juice, just my preference. Has a very fresh flavor that I'm sure will go well as a side or topping to fish or salads. Very easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Quite good. Not something I would eat every day, but a fun, beautiful change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was amazing. I am not fond of fennel taste, however this was amazing! This would be great with fish. I also added some lime juice. Tonight I ate it in a chicken burrito with some cabbage and added tomato salsa to top off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I personally do not like licorice so when i cut into the fennel and realized how powerful the smell was I decided to brown it and the onion (i used yellow as that's what i had) in my cast iron skillet with olive oil and then continued with the recipe. I also added tomatoes. YUMMMMMY! Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I bought a fennel bulb because I needed the greens in a fruit compote. Found this recipe via ingredient search. Most of our family loved this salad. Those who dislike fennel agreed it would still be an awesome side dish minus fennel! Definitely will make this again... probably for company, 'cause this is a really different and pretty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Ooo-wee this is yummy! I used zucchini instead of cucumber and fermented red bell peppers instead of banana peppers because that's what I had on hand. I added a splash of the lacto-rich cultured liquid from the fermented peppers and a dash of balsamic vinegar. I loved this served with a side of lightly steamed and chilled asparagus -- will definitely make this again for me & my girlfriends, but probably not for my kids (who wouldn't touch it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is soo good! A MUST try! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Thanks for providing this recipe! It's so refreshing, I've made it several times now. We've used it as as an appetizer as well as a side. Due to food allergies, I replaced the honey with maple syrup and the onions with either chives or the green part of scallions and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have been trying to reduce heartburn and fennel is amazing for that purpose. So, I made this salsa. I really liked it and it worked well for chips. My boyfriend would probably have given this 3 stars. I did find that it was a bit runny/liquidy, but I suppose you could simply pour out the excess liquid. I made this for a second time yesterday. It wasn't too wet. I wonder if we measured the ingredients wrong the first time. I took it to my cousin's and all of it was eaten in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States