Fennel Cucumber Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I HATE fennel, until now. This is so good. I made it yesterday and I thought we would have it during football, but didn't break it out until now. Very, very good. Thanks for sharing. Glad I took a risk on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I had fennel I got from the CSA program from a local farm. Having never used fennel before, I didn't know what to do with it until I came across this recipe. FANTASTIC! It's light, fresh, crisp and perfect for hot summer days! Everyone loved it and now they are even requesting I bring it to BBQ's! I used lime juice instead of lemon though, as I read in other reviews. We ate it with pita chips. I will definietly make this a summertime staple. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Delicious!!!! I can see this will be a summer staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is freakin awesome!!!!!!! Thank you, you wonderful women. It has changed my life!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I belong to a farm share, of which we sometimes get fennel in our share. Having no idea what to do with my fennel, it said sadly in the back of the refrigerator. On a quest for salsa recipes (for all my tomatoes) I ran across this and gave it a try. Amazing! I've made it a couple of times for cookouts, with rave reviews from the guests. My only change is that I used fresh lime juice in place of lemon juice, and I left out the banana peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Surprisingly good. I added in a little tomatillo-jalepeno sauce my husband whipped up for something else, just to give it a little bite. Also a finely diced beet for color. We used it in a burrito and also in salad, and it added both flavor and crunch. I'm making it to hand out to friends. Didn't have avocados and didn't miss them. Not something I'd eat tons of, but definitely fun and different and tasty, and very easy. Nice change-of-pace and party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This salsa recipe is just so yummy and fresh for summer cooking! I had some fennel that I got from our local CSA that I needed to cook, so I found this recipe here - thanks so much for posting it! It is fresh tasting, a bit crunchy, and is great either with pita crisps or other semi-salty chips, OR even better served over grilled salmon or chicken! I added a bit of lime juice too, and added an additional avocado, and used a regular cucumber from the CSA too, and it was perfect! I think you could also add a little dijon mustard (1/4 t. or so) or a dash or two of green Tabasco to kick it up a bit... but otherwise, it's perfect as is! My semi-picky husband and 6-year-old daughter loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Yummy! The only changes I made were using shallots instead of onion, and agave instead of honey. Eating it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Hoffecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Mmmm. Big thumbs up! Very fresh and perfect on a hot summer day. My only change was to sub agave nectar for the honey to make it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This is really good salsa! I bought a fennel bulb at the grocery store for the heck of it, and then went looking for a recipe to try out. I am so glad I chose this one over the risotto! I stuck to the ingredients, but changed the quantities to taste - absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States