Felix K.'s 'Don't even try to say these aren't the best you've ever eaten, because they are' Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I decided to give this one a shot, in spite of my skepticism about the amount of flour - it's more than a cup more than my usual recipe, so I was a little nervous. I followed the recipe exactly, including the (also scary, LOL) 300 degree oven temperature. This is a great cookie for all the chewy CC cookie lovers, I think that's the effect of the additional flour - a chewier cookie. The dough is VERY stiff to work with, my KA didn't like it much. Very tasty cookies, and I'll probably make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LRoecker
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
well.. I think with a title like this one they're going to disappoint. They are really really good cookies! I like them. They would be amazing with some ice-cream. I would have given them a five if the title wasn't so ... final. I do recommend only putting eight cookies on a sheet, when you flatten them they get much bigger then you might expect. so to avoid an unfortunate mess just put less cookies on the sheet. *edit* I have made these cookies MANY times now. I think this is officially "my" chocolate chip recipe. I usually use 1/2C margarine and 1/2C shortening, it saves on using up all my butter at one time. I also don't usually put in all the vanilla it calls for (depending on who I'm cooking them for, my mom hates cookies with a lot of vanilla flavor) If your using vanilla extract use the full amount, but if your using REAL vanilla, you can half the amount and they still turn out wonderful. I've also noticed that sometimes I don't always use the last 1/2 C of flour, I add the flour 1/2 a cup at a time and sometimes 3 1/2 cups is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
There are SO many great chocolate chip cookie recipes, many of them on this site. I can't remember ever making a "bad" chocolate chip cookie. This is no exception, but it is not exception-AL compared to other great recipes. While it may not hold the distinction of being "the best," it nevertheless holds its own with the best of them. Looking over the reviews I noticed these described many ways - cakey, crumbly, chewy, crunchy and more - all are correct. Experienced bakers will know that how cookies turn out, even with the same recipe, will depend on a number of variables such as size, thickness and how long they're baked. In my case, I prepared the dough as written, but couldn't bring myself to bake them at 300 degrees. I baked them at 350 and they were delightfully crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle, just how I like them. After scooping the cookies onto the sheet I flattened them only slightly and they turned out pleasantly thick and substantial. All and all, I was very pleased with this recipe - and hubs and I were both very pleased with the resulting cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by purplegold
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for! The cookies came out chewy, with a crispy outer edge - perfection! Just like another reviewer said, they're like Subway cookies. I like my cookies chewy, and the crispy outer edge is enough so that it doesn't fall apart and doesn't appear underbaked. It is a large cookie - about 1/4 cup dough for each. Notes: The recipe didn't say if brown sugar was to be tightly packed or lightly packed; I made mine tightly packed. I didn't grease the baking sheet since the recipe didn't call for it, not a problem at all... it actually came out a bit greasy. I left the cookies on the baking sheet for 10 minutes after taking them out of the oven (15 mins baking time), then put them on paper towels to absorb some of the grease. I can understand how the title can put some people off. It uses a lot of ingredients and I was a bit afraid to make the full recipe but went for it anyway. I'm more than happy I did!!! SINFULLY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplegold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Sorry, but these aren't the best I've ever eaten. For my tastes, they're way too big, dry and have too much flour. That said, the ingredients list shows 6 tablespoons of white sugar, but it's not called for in the instructions. Maybe the white sugar is not supposed to be there, but I added it with the brown sugar. Maybe that's why mine came out dry and hard. Also, when baking at 300 degrees, there was no way these cookies were done in 17 minutes. I kept going until the edges were golden, and the result was that they were just hard lumps. I upped the oven temp and the second batch seemed a little better. I don't have any incentive to try again, but my recommendation to anyone attempting this recipe is to boost the oven temp to 325 and make sure you flatten the dough balls quite thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
The Byrds are a family of stubborn authority-fighters. We hate to be told what we can't say. Still, not one of us was able to say these aren't the best we've ever eaten. A couple of us said they were ONE of the best, but no one said NOT the best. So, there you have it. I've made the reipe several times with great results except for when I doubled the batch. If you double this recipe you probably don't want the full amount of flour, so add it slowly. I didn't. The cookies are still fabulous, but not as chewy as I would like. My fault. Thanks so much for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I had a hard time believing there was a chocolate chip cookie recipe better than the one I already use. Curiosity got me and I tried them out. Absolutely fabulous! A nice big cookie...great for wrapping individually for a gift. Took a little longer in my oven...more like 18-20 minutes. I'm going to go hide them before the kids come home from school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
A great recipe! I have spent years trying out various chocolate chip cookie recipes, and this one reminds me of the delicious, big ones you can buy at Subway or lots of sandwich shops. They are a bit greasy, which is why I took off one star. Otherwise, a delicious treat and a nice chewy texture with a crispy outer edge. I made the cookies about 1/2 the original size so you can 2 without quite as much guilt. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These really are amazing cookies! It's silly to rate them lower than 5 because of their name. Be prepared for stiff dough, but I still managed, even with a hand held mixer. A bag of chocolate chips is approx. 2 cups, and I made mine heaping. The cooling time on the sheets is important, since it lets the middle of the cookie finish baking through. My kids couldn't believe I gave them a cookie THAT big. The only down side to these is that the dough, being stiffer, isn't so tasty uncooked. More for the oven, then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnificent7
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
These cookies are AMAZING I LOVED them! I'm a very picky cookie eater and i've tried several different recipes. These held their size, they were FAT, and a slight crisp on the outside but oh, so soft and chewy/gooey on the inside. The dough is a little bit weird, kinda crumbly, but yummy. I fed them to my big family of 11 and they all absoluteley loved them. I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States