Feijoada (Brazilian Black Bean Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
We loved this! I made it without the meat since I'm a vegetarian. Instead I added olive oil, browned the onions and garlic to lend a little more flavor and added some cayenne pepper to give it a kick. I did cook a sausage separately for my husband and served it sliced over the top, but in my opinion it wasn't necessary. (Obviously my vegetarian version isn't very authentic, but it was delicious and a good alternative for those of you who are looking to lighten up this recipe...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe was hard to review. I had to make this twice. 1st I did follow as close to a T before I had to give in. 7 1/2 hours to make this dish, even soaking the beans over night. In step 1 it says to fill enough water to cover beans by 3 inches. That's alot of water depending on the size vessel you are using. That's my mistake in the 1st round. However, the hamhocks did not pull off the bone in 1 hour either in part 2 of the directions. And I waited and had 2 pots going for 3 1/2 hours before just frying the 3rd step on the stove and adding all together. I was very disappointed the flavor was no more then tasting like watered down pintos meat and beans after 7 1/2 hours . Day 2 I started over again. This time determined to get it to what it was suppose to be. I started the hamhocks 1st (still took 2 hours) then in another pan put oil, onions, garlic, and meats together and saute'ed, added hamhocks and broth, then the soaked beans, and water to an inch and 1/2 over beans, then bay leaf and coriander, boiled on high for 20 minutes, then simmered for 2 hours, added cilantro and parsley and cooked about another 30 minutes or so until hamhocks were tender and falling apart and beans were tender. The flavor was way better then the 1st time but was still liquidy, so I added a thickening agent to the broth and it came out very well. With the changes, it was really good. But it was a frustrating recipe to follow. The time line isn't correct here. A minimum 4 1/2 hours to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Substitute a pork roast and a full kielbasa for the meats and you'll be approximately right. The rice must be white, cooked pilaf style, and sprinkle farofa (wiki it) across the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I made this with canned black beans, and ham that I diced into large chunks. Apart from adding quite a lot more ground coriander, I pretty much made this as written. I threw in a lot of fresh cilantro but skipped the parsley. Served it over plain white rice. This was a filling, satisfying meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I'm brazilian, and I'd suggest you guys to drop the ham and get some nice smoked sausages (won't ever substitute the gelatin in pork ears or feet, which is what we use to get the consistency right, but it'll taste more legit) instead. This recipe takes about 1 hour to cook in a pressure cooker (which is how most people cook beans in Brazil, housewives haven't got all day to cook and rice and beans are a daily staple). Nowadays there are even electric pressure cookers with timers, which are safer. The feijoada will be perfect when the beans are very well cooked, turning into paste when you smash them. If you want the feijoada creamier, you can smash some of the beans and stir while it simmers for a bit after cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I have been trying to make this for my Brazilian husband for years and he says this is perfect. A little too much meat and it needs to cook alot longer to get those darn beans soft, but after a few extra hrs of simmering...perfect!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jacquelyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The key to making this dish perfect is using dry beans that have been soaked over night. I first made this with canned (Yes, I was lazy) but the canned beans do not give the dish that hearty Brazilian style. I also love the idea of smoked ham hocks which also add to the rich juicy flavor. I squeezed a lime into my version. I happen to like the zing of lime but my family did not. We all love this. Served over white rice. Obrigada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salads4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Having lived in Brasil I really wanted to find a good Feijoada recipe that didn't take forever to make. This one tastes great and doesn't take all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I am brazilian and can tell you this is nothing like Feijoada. For one, the beans MUST be dry because they soak the flavor of the pork as they cook... the pork cuts are totally wrong - they should be smoked and pork loin, baby back ribs, fresh pork sausage and smoked portuguese sausage. Bay leaves and rum are also essential... The side dishes are white rice, oranges and kale, thinly sliced and lightly cooked with garlic. And to finish off, farofa - a corn-meal based mix with glazed onions and olive oil. Where in this world there is coriander in feijoada??!? anyway, sorry guys, you're eating something else that is not feijoada. at all. I am putting down the recipe tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I took some shortcuts. I put 2 cans drained black beans in a stoneware 9x13. Added the sauted onions/garlic (only used 1/2 a regular onion but full amount of green onion), boiled ham, 5 strips uncooked diced bacon, salt pepper. Mixed and poured 1/2 can chicken broth on top. Baked uncovered 45 minutes at 375 to crisp meat. Added remaining broth and cooked 30 min longer. Served over wild rice blend. Enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Brazilian Feijoada

See how to make a flavorful black bean, bacon, and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States