Feijoada (Brazilian Black Bean Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
We loved this! I made it without the meat since I'm a vegetarian. Instead I added olive oil, browned the onions and garlic to lend a little more flavor and added some cayenne pepper to give it a kick. I did cook a sausage separately for my husband and served it sliced over the top, but in my opinion it wasn't necessary. (Obviously my vegetarian version isn't very authentic, but it was delicious and a good alternative for those of you who are looking to lighten up this recipe...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I took some shortcuts. I put 2 cans drained black beans in a stoneware 9x13. Added the sauted onions/garlic (only used 1/2 a regular onion but full amount of green onion), boiled ham, 5 strips uncooked diced bacon, salt pepper. Mixed and poured 1/2 can chicken broth on top. Baked uncovered 45 minutes at 375 to crisp meat. Added remaining broth and cooked 30 min longer. Served over wild rice blend. Enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
We make this recipe when we have left over ham, and usually omit the bacon so we can pretend to be a little bit healthy. Its creamy tasting and very rich feeling, so you don't eat much in one sitting anyway. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The key to making this dish perfect is using dry beans that have been soaked over night. I first made this with canned (Yes, I was lazy) but the canned beans do not give the dish that hearty Brazilian style. I also love the idea of smoked ham hocks which also add to the rich juicy flavor. I squeezed a lime into my version. I happen to like the zing of lime but my family did not. We all love this. Served over white rice. Obrigada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salads4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
On a taste level, this is beyond 5 stars. Used our leftover ham bone from Easter and cut up the remaining meat. I used 2 cans of rinsed and drained black beans and added a third can of drained beans that I pureed. Still it was a little too soupy for me. I used a slotted spoon to serve it. And as others have said, it didn't look particularly good in the pot. Regardless, we all loved it, even my 11 year old. I will make this anytime I can get my hands on a ham bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
SO SO GOOD!!! I could eat this every day (unfortunately, I might die from high cholesterol if I did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was a fabulous recipe. My husband, who spent two years in Portugal, loved this recipe. He said this was the best Feijoada he's had in years. He loved that the flavor of the pork was there without the parts. We used ALL of the meats: ham, bacon, & kielbasa. So good but we'll only eat it once or twice a year because of the fat content. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Having lived in Brasil I really wanted to find a good Feijoada recipe that didn't take forever to make. This one tastes great and doesn't take all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I have been trying to make this for my Brazilian husband for years and he says this is perfect. A little too much meat and it needs to cook alot longer to get those darn beans soft, but after a few extra hrs of simmering...perfect!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jacquelyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Fantastic!! I followed the advice of others and simmered the ham hock for 3 hours and the beans for the same. There was so much meat on the ham hock that I did not add the diced ham called for. On recommendation from my Brazilian sister in law, I added cumin and extra garlic (she said traditionally the meat is simmered with the beans, I liked cooking the ham separately to cut down on added fat). I served over rice that had been cooked with a small amount of minced garlic and 1 tsp. butter (I highly recommend it!). In the future I will fry the bacon and set it aside for later and then saute the garlic and onions in the bacon fat. Omit the diced ham and the cilantro/parsley (not needed at all). This recipe took a long time to cook, but it was worth it and I think that now I've made it I can adjust the recipe in the future to make the cooking time faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Brazilian Feijoada

See how to make a flavorful black bean, bacon, and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States