Feijoada (Brazilian Black Bean Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was really good and it took most of the morning to make it. I had everything on hand for a change. I followed the directions. It is very good over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I made this with canned black beans, and ham that I diced into large chunks. Apart from adding quite a lot more ground coriander, I pretty much made this as written. I threw in a lot of fresh cilantro but skipped the parsley. Served it over plain white rice. This was a filling, satisfying meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Substitute a pork roast and a full kielbasa for the meats and you'll be approximately right. The rice must be white, cooked pilaf style, and sprinkle farofa (wiki it) across the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
SO SO GOOD!!! I could eat this every day (unfortunately, I might die from high cholesterol if I did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was a fabulous recipe. My husband, who spent two years in Portugal, loved this recipe. He said this was the best Feijoada he's had in years. He loved that the flavor of the pork was there without the parts. We used ALL of the meats: ham, bacon, & kielbasa. So good but we'll only eat it once or twice a year because of the fat content. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Having lived in Brasil I really wanted to find a good Feijoada recipe that didn't take forever to make. This one tastes great and doesn't take all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
We loved this! I made it without the meat since I'm a vegetarian. Instead I added olive oil, browned the onions and garlic to lend a little more flavor and added some cayenne pepper to give it a kick. I did cook a sausage separately for my husband and served it sliced over the top, but in my opinion it wasn't necessary. (Obviously my vegetarian version isn't very authentic, but it was delicious and a good alternative for those of you who are looking to lighten up this recipe...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This dish came out pretty good. I only used leftover of ham, I didn't add any bacon or ham hocks. I prefer black beans without any meat, I just made this because my husband was craving my Mom's food, he really enjoyed this. Served over brown basmati rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
We make this recipe when we have left over ham, and usually omit the bacon so we can pretend to be a little bit healthy. Its creamy tasting and very rich feeling, so you don't eat much in one sitting anyway. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe was hard to review. I had to make this twice. 1st I did follow as close to a T before I had to give in. 7 1/2 hours to make this dish, even soaking the beans over night. In step 1 it says to fill enough water to cover beans by 3 inches. That's alot of water depending on the size vessel you are using. That's my mistake in the 1st round. However, the hamhocks did not pull off the bone in 1 hour either in part 2 of the directions. And I waited and had 2 pots going for 3 1/2 hours before just frying the 3rd step on the stove and adding all together. I was very disappointed the flavor was no more then tasting like watered down pintos meat and beans after 7 1/2 hours . Day 2 I started over again. This time determined to get it to what it was suppose to be. I started the hamhocks 1st (still took 2 hours) then in another pan put oil, onions, garlic, and meats together and saute'ed, added hamhocks and broth, then the soaked beans, and water to an inch and 1/2 over beans, then bay leaf and coriander, boiled on high for 20 minutes, then simmered for 2 hours, added cilantro and parsley and cooked about another 30 minutes or so until hamhocks were tender and falling apart and beans were tender. The flavor was way better then the 1st time but was still liquidy, so I added a thickening agent to the broth and it came out very well. With the changes, it was really good. But it was a frustrating recipe to follow. The time line isn't correct here. A minimum 4 1/2 hours to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brazilian Feijoada

See how to make a flavorful black bean, bacon, and sausage stew.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States