Feijoada (Brazilian Black Bean Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I really enjoyed the taste ( I used the cilantro and parsley). Did find the recepie a little hard to follow.. Used a crockpot with the bones and ham and simmered all day. Then I fried up the rest of the ingredients, meat first and onions and garlic in the grease. Threw it all together with canned beans (my grocery store did not have dried) added more water and cooked for about another hour. Added the spicy sausages as some other users suggested and it added a great kick. Thanks for the yummy recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANDRONICKY
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I added pork sausages to the recipe and it was great. Very filling and satisfying meal for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I'm brazilian, and I'd suggest you guys to drop the ham and get some nice smoked sausages (won't ever substitute the gelatin in pork ears or feet, which is what we use to get the consistency right, but it'll taste more legit) instead. This recipe takes about 1 hour to cook in a pressure cooker (which is how most people cook beans in Brazil, housewives haven't got all day to cook and rice and beans are a daily staple). Nowadays there are even electric pressure cookers with timers, which are safer. The feijoada will be perfect when the beans are very well cooked, turning into paste when you smash them. If you want the feijoada creamier, you can smash some of the beans and stir while it simmers for a bit after cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
To make this even more authentic, use the ham hocks, linguica, country style pork ribs and blood sausage. It is the most delicious thing ever. My most requested food for special occasions. One thing to add...Brazilian cooking is based on the flavors of garlic, parsley and salt. The beans should be cooked with a bunch of parsley that is then removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
To everyone that is complaining about how long it takes, just use a pressure pot. It will take not more than a hour,if that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I am brazilian and can tell you this is nothing like Feijoada. For one, the beans MUST be dry because they soak the flavor of the pork as they cook... the pork cuts are totally wrong - they should be smoked and pork loin, baby back ribs, fresh pork sausage and smoked portuguese sausage. Bay leaves and rum are also essential... The side dishes are white rice, oranges and kale, thinly sliced and lightly cooked with garlic. And to finish off, farofa - a corn-meal based mix with glazed onions and olive oil. Where in this world there is coriander in feijoada??!? anyway, sorry guys, you're eating something else that is not feijoada. at all. I am putting down the recipe tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Fantastic!! I followed the advice of others and simmered the ham hock for 3 hours and the beans for the same. There was so much meat on the ham hock that I did not add the diced ham called for. On recommendation from my Brazilian sister in law, I added cumin and extra garlic (she said traditionally the meat is simmered with the beans, I liked cooking the ham separately to cut down on added fat). I served over rice that had been cooked with a small amount of minced garlic and 1 tsp. butter (I highly recommend it!). In the future I will fry the bacon and set it aside for later and then saute the garlic and onions in the bacon fat. Omit the diced ham and the cilantro/parsley (not needed at all). This recipe took a long time to cook, but it was worth it and I think that now I've made it I can adjust the recipe in the future to make the cooking time faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I have been trying to make this for my Brazilian husband for years and he says this is perfect. A little too much meat and it needs to cook alot longer to get those darn beans soft, but after a few extra hrs of simmering...perfect!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jacquelyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The key to making this dish perfect is using dry beans that have been soaked over night. I first made this with canned (Yes, I was lazy) but the canned beans do not give the dish that hearty Brazilian style. I also love the idea of smoked ham hocks which also add to the rich juicy flavor. I squeezed a lime into my version. I happen to like the zing of lime but my family did not. We all love this. Served over white rice. Obrigada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salads4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Brazilian Feijoada

See how to make a flavorful black bean, bacon, and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States