Favorite Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
They turned out perfect!! Thanks for your receipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This is very similar to the recipe my family has handed down for generations. A Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASERRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Was looking for recipe for carmel corn to use up the left over popped corn - used this recipe because I don't use corn syrup at all - had about 6 cups leftover popped corn (organic, already seasoned with coconut oil/butter/salt mixture) - Mixed 1/2 TBLS butter with 1/2 cup of raw organic cane sugar and 1/2 cup unsulphured molasses, no salt. Brought to boil, and since I don't have candy thermometer, dropped drops of mixture into cold water until hard, pliable (but not sticky!) ball formed - poured over corn, mixed and layed out on wax paper to dry - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
AWESOME! I loved it! I used more syrup and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillymoose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I just tried this. I used 1 C un-popped corn in air popper( I had 2 cups popped corn left over.)For the syrup,Iused 1 C un-sulphered black strap molasses and 1 tbs. water, 1 C sugar and 1Tbs.butter I Cooked until it formed a firm. but pliable ball in cold water. Grease hands before forming into balls. It made 50 mini balls. If you like Cracker Jacks, you will love this recipe. Add peanuts for the complete taste of Cracker Jacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookHunt
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Ok, the one thing that i noticed that this recipe did not have was any water. I used 3 quarts of popcorn 2/3 cup Sorghum (molasses), 1 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup WATER, 1/3 tsp salt, 1/3 tsp vinegar, 2tbs butter and 2 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I use this recipe and add 1 envelope of koolaid or jello to the syrup before making into balls. Family likes Black cheery koolaid or strawberry jello powder. The taste is awesome. Try your favorite flavor of either and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Made it with 3 bags of microwave popcorn. I also only heated it to 238 degrees F. This made them stick together better and have the not so hard to break your teeth. But the are great!! Just like Grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karina Solar
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Made them just as the recipe calls for and got delicious popcorn balls! This is going to be a new favorite at home! I might try adding some peanuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karina Solar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
For those like me without a candy thermometer-boil the 'sauce' at bubbling & stir for several minutes, until a drop in a cup of cold water makes a gooey ball, then it's ready to drizzle on the popcorn and they will hold together when packed by hand (after cooling a bit). I used just 1 cup corn, but 1 1/2 c sugar and 1 1/2 c molasses, and got a yummy batch of 22 (24 if I hadn't eaten some on the way to the wax paper!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States