Favorite Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
Great recipe for the holidays. Next time I may make it with unsalted microwave popcorn to shorten the process. I added salted peanuts which gave them a great flavor! The kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This is very similar to the recipe my family has handed down for generations. A Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASERRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
They tasted very good but next time I'll use half the popcorn or double the syrup that goes on it. The problem may have been that I used a hot air popper instead of popping it on the stove. I ended up with more popcorn than syrup to hold it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
They turned out perfect!! Thanks for your receipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
WARNING: This doesn't make popcorn balls... it makes CARAMEL CORN. It's yummy, but I tried to shape it into balls and it just didn't work. It's very crunchy, and not gooey/sticky like I wanted. If you like caramel corn, try this recipe, but if you're wanting popcorn balls, look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yerington, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was okay. I halved the recipe (because I only had 1 C of molasses). Like other reviewers stated, there wasn't enough sauce for all of the popcorn. It only covered about half of it. The flavor was pretty good... not exciting though. Oh, and there was no way I could turn the bowl of popcorn into balls... there just wasn't enough sauce to make them stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Was looking for recipe for carmel corn to use up the left over popped corn - used this recipe because I don't use corn syrup at all - had about 6 cups leftover popped corn (organic, already seasoned with coconut oil/butter/salt mixture) - Mixed 1/2 TBLS butter with 1/2 cup of raw organic cane sugar and 1/2 cup unsulphured molasses, no salt. Brought to boil, and since I don't have candy thermometer, dropped drops of mixture into cold water until hard, pliable (but not sticky!) ball formed - poured over corn, mixed and layed out on wax paper to dry - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
AWESOME! I loved it! I used more syrup and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillymoose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
its a good fun one to do with the kids.... beware its STICKY.... we had a good time.. a great homemade snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyme, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Montpelier, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
made carmel corn not pop corn balls, I agree with the other womans review who said the same thing. It was good but next time I Am going to only use 1 cup of popcorn instead of 2. I also used the colored sugar to make it colored and it worked really well but it absolutely makes carmel corn not popcorn balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyOthree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States