Favorite Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Tried 4 different pie crust recipes, and this one I like best. Easy to roll out, and best taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I used self-rising flour and omitted the baking powder. This pie crust is FABULOUS... my NEW FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is an old fashioned recipe that has stood the test of time. I made half the recipe so I could freeze some of the dough to have on hand. Rather than 8 oz (or 4 oz in my case) I just added 1 tbs of water at a time until the dough came together well. I refrigerated my dough, wrapped, over night then brought it to room temperature before rolling out. It handles well and makes a flakey, light crust. Thank you phaylock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Will use this recipe with some notes and modifications. It cooks up nicely but doesn't "handle" well at all. I had to work more flour into it to be able to handle it at all, iti was very sticky otherwise. Excellent flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Very flaky, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Excellent - loved this. Followed recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome pie crust. I used the suggestion of only 4 ounces of liquid (I think 8 would have been too much as well) and I used butter instead of lard. Delish! This was also my very first pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great crust! Used it for pumpkin pies and it was delicious! I cut down the recipe to 16 servings which made JUST enough for 2 pies, must use wax paper to roll it without ripping though. For the egg part (16 servings) it asks for a 1/4 of an egg. Just crack the egg, whip it to mix then use 1 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. T. Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I love the taste of this crust! I love the texture, too, however it is really hard for me to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Very good pie crust. My husband thought it tasted like the crust on a Hostess fruit pie, but he liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States