Favorite Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Tried 4 different pie crust recipes, and this one I like best. Easy to roll out, and best taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I used self-rising flour and omitted the baking powder. This pie crust is FABULOUS... my NEW FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is an old fashioned recipe that has stood the test of time. I made half the recipe so I could freeze some of the dough to have on hand. Rather than 8 oz (or 4 oz in my case) I just added 1 tbs of water at a time until the dough came together well. I refrigerated my dough, wrapped, over night then brought it to room temperature before rolling out. It handles well and makes a flakey, light crust. Thank you phaylock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Will use this recipe with some notes and modifications. It cooks up nicely but doesn't "handle" well at all. I had to work more flour into it to be able to handle it at all, iti was very sticky otherwise. Excellent flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Very flaky, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Excellent - loved this. Followed recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome pie crust. I used the suggestion of only 4 ounces of liquid (I think 8 would have been too much as well) and I used butter instead of lard. Delish! This was also my very first pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great crust! Used it for pumpkin pies and it was delicious! I cut down the recipe to 16 servings which made JUST enough for 2 pies, must use wax paper to roll it without ripping though. For the egg part (16 servings) it asks for a 1/4 of an egg. Just crack the egg, whip it to mix then use 1 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. T. Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I love the taste of this crust! I love the texture, too, however it is really hard for me to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Very good pie crust. My husband thought it tasted like the crust on a Hostess fruit pie, but he liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States