Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! I read the reviews before trying it and I used some of the suggestions. Thank you all. I doubled all the spices and instead of all molasses, I used half robust molasses and half light brown sugar. I also added one half cup homemade, unsweetened applesauce. This reminds me of when I was a little girl and my mom used to make this. So, so good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Is good but not great.. the recipe from an embarrassment of mangoes is far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This cake was a bit dry and blander than I was going for as is. Made it again with a few changes... Use brown sugar, not white. Use hot coffee instead of hot water. Double the spices (but maybe not the cloves, depending on your preferences!). Add 1/2 c. of Greek yogurt or apple sauce for moisture. Bake 50-55 mins instead of 60, just until toothpick comes out clean. The cake was good as written, but exceptional with the above changes! Served with a homemade caramel sauce (butter, cream, sugar, vanilla, salt - easy to find a simple recipe) and perhaps a bit of vanilla bean ice cream or whipped cream, takes the cake from incredibly delicious to over-the-top good! I'll be making this again and again once the cooler weather hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I love gingerbread. Double the spices and this is the best. I make small loaves to give as Christmas gifts and get lots of compliments. A couple of slices with butter and a cup of coffee is heaven. Also freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
a good recipe, needed something.. maybe nutmeg? overall pleased, it was very moist and tasted better when I put a homemade lemon sauce on it.. anybody want lemon sauce recipe, send me a message
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Paula up there obviously didn't make it according to the recipe or had substituted something. This recipe is excellent, it's very old as I had found this recipe almost exactly in a 5 roses cookbook that was from the 50's. I must admit however that it should say fancy molasses.... not blackstrap. Mind you black strap has been used in a pumpkin pie and it tasted excellent as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Skinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Worst ginger cake recipe that I have tried, and I have been baking for around 50 years. No real taste , except for the cloves. It needs more ginger, no cloves or cinnamon and then perhaps it might be edible. Sorry but I will keep to my old recipe in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was amazing! I made it today and took the advice of some other members and doubled the spices. I ended up not having enough molasses by about 1/4 cup but it turned out fine and I thought there was enough molasses taste. I made these in cupcake form to bring to school and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this cake today for my 18 year ole, He just loved it. I did not change a thing. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I altered things to make it healthier - all brown sugar for more flavor, 1 c whole wheat flour substituted for 1 c of the white, 1/2 cup applesauce instead of any butter. And I guesstimated the spices. I come from a high-cholesterol family, so I like to up the nutrition of any recipe! I will make it again, probably tonight if it disappears this fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States