Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was a good and simple recipe. Definitely up the spices a little if you like more kick. Only took 45 minutes to cook. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Moistilicious! I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the amount of spices (especially the cloves) and added about 1tsp of vegetable oil for extra moistness as I used GF flour which tends to be drying in and of itself. The result was 5 mini loaves--4 for gifting and one for me. I sliced off a piece to try. So moist and flavorful. The next piece I heated in a pan with butter...Bliss! I will be making this again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This has become my favorite gingerbread recipe. Everyone who has tried this has LOVED it. I doubled the spices and added 1/2 cup of applesauce to the recipe as the comments have recommended and I definitely agree it makes for a more flavorful bread. I have used this recipe to make one big loaf, mini loafs, muffins, mini muffins. The muffins do not need nearly as long to bake so you have to watch them or they will come out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I plan on making this for my friends mom who just got out of the hospital, I think she'll like it ?? I substituted the molasses for honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Way too much molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This recipe uses too much molasses. It baked nicely and it was moist. But the taste was bitter and tasted like you were drinking molasses out of the bottle. a shame because it looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Niki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jmb22
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Making these now and the batter smells super good and taste great! Lol I shouldnt be eating it. I did double each spice as others has said . I am experimenting with making mini muffins, normal size muffins, mini loafs and mini donuts just to see the time difference and which is a better display for a Christmas party I'm going to . Will update with taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
4 stars as it is; 5 stars if you serve it with lemon curd. Or lemon curd and whipped cream together. First time making gingerbread and it was a bit hit at a group pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Amazing. I made it with Francine76's suggestions (double the spices, add 1/2 c. applesauce), with Pamela's Gluten Free Baking mix, and it turned out absolutely perfect - and made the house smell like Christmas in the bargain. Warmed, with vanilla ice cream - decadence itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Lost a star for number of adjustments needed. However, if you make the suggested adjustments it is a massive hit. I tried this recipe (doubled it) to make 6 mini loafs with cream cheese frosting. I adjusted the sugar, Doubling it, and added ginger and Pumpkin pie spice until it tasted right. I think the hot water makes this. Our tap water is extremely hot, I would suggest boiling water if your tap water doesn't get too hot. It makes a textural difference. I baked, at 320 and it had an awesome texture, I like this cook better than 350. I will make this again with adjustments. I would like a less molassesy taste so I'll use unsulphered next time. I used cooking molasses, might try to find light molasses next year. Huge hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simply-Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States