Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Perfect Christmas Day dessert - I doubled the spices as others suggested, except for the cloves which I used just a rounded 1/2 t. and the salt I kept as listed. I cut out 2 tablespoons of the butter and put in 3/4 cup of applesauce. It was perfect. I used a 9 inch round cake pan, started checking at 40min. I ended up cutting the temp to 335 as it was getting overdone on the outside and underdone in center. Total cooking time was 46 minutes. Since the pan was dark/coated I should have kept the cooking temp down from the beginning. Excellent recipe, didn't need icing, served w/ vanilla ice cream and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
AMAZING...............MY FAMILY LOVES IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Very good! I did double the ginger and cinnamon and baked it for 35 minutes at 350 and 10 minutes at 325. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Great tasting. It only took 40min instead of an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Great gingerbread. As others have already commented, however, I increased the amount of spices by 50% and also added 1 tsp. of ground nutmeg. I cut the butter to 1/4 c. and added 1/4 c. of canola oil. I also added 1/2 c. of unsweetened applesauce. Finally, I replaced the hot water with hot coffee. I baked it in a gingerbread man shaped pan for 30 minutes. It was a hit with a house full of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was a good and simple recipe. Definitely up the spices a little if you like more kick. Only took 45 minutes to cook. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Moistilicious! I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the amount of spices (especially the cloves) and added about 1tsp of vegetable oil for extra moistness as I used GF flour which tends to be drying in and of itself. The result was 5 mini loaves--4 for gifting and one for me. I sliced off a piece to try. So moist and flavorful. The next piece I heated in a pan with butter...Bliss! I will be making this again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This has become my favorite gingerbread recipe. Everyone who has tried this has LOVED it. I doubled the spices and added 1/2 cup of applesauce to the recipe as the comments have recommended and I definitely agree it makes for a more flavorful bread. I have used this recipe to make one big loaf, mini loafs, muffins, mini muffins. The muffins do not need nearly as long to bake so you have to watch them or they will come out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I plan on making this for my friends mom who just got out of the hospital, I think she'll like it ?? I substituted the molasses for honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Way too much molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States