Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is fabulous. I would recommend a good cream cheese swirl topping after cutting into servings. Other then that, the cake was moist, spicy and delicious. My husband couldn't get enough and asked me to make more so we could take them up to his shop on the base for the guys that couldn't go home for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAVENCHEEKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Really good! -1 star because it did not fit a 9x9"! It looked too full as I filled the pan but I trusted the recipe and now I'm cleaning burnt batter off my oven element. I took suggestions and added 1/2c applesauce to the wet ingredients and doubled the spices. It really is a delicious, spongey, moist and flavorful cake. I'll be making it again... in a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious. I made this as a dessert for Thanksgiving, and added homemade whipped cream on top. I added a little more cinnamon & ginger, but this is a great recipe to begin with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by KramerGirls
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I thought this recipe was great as is. I made it exactly as written except I bake it in cupcake pans. I baked them for about 15 minutes. They were mild, moist, and enjoyed by everyone who tried them. This recipe will enter my tried-and-true collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KramerGirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made the recipe as listed and holy molasses! Overwhelming molasses flavor. I made it again, used 1/2 cup molasses and 1/2 cup brown sugar and it was much sweeter and less intense. I also upped the cinnamon to 1 1/2 teaspoons and the ground ginger to 3 teaspoons. It was a much bigger hit in my home this time. My pregnant wife ate the whole loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and as another reviewer stated, I started checking at 45 minutes and mine was ready after about 50 minutes. It is very moist with great flavor. Now I know that gingerbread isn't about ginger, it is about molasses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Great little cake. I doubled the spices, next time I will triple them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Brownell Kortuem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
May have been a rookie mistake on my part but the 1 hour bake time seemed a bit much. the cake a bit dark on the edges, I used a glass baking pan which may require a different cook time, temperature. also the previous posting on the type of molasses should be noted. I found the cake to be more of a molasses taste and less a ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I've been looking for a gingerbread recipe like my Mom's for a while now, and this is it! I doubled the spices and it was AMAZING! I only had to cook it for 23-27 mins though as opposed to the hour it states in the recipe. I'd recommend this to ANYONE! Throw some cool whip on top when it's just a little warm and it's AMAZING! The whole family loved it! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Delicious! I have always loved gingerbread but never tried to make my own. I LOVE this recipe. It's exactly the right taste and texture --moist but still cakey. The only thing I did was increase the ginger a little since all the other reviews suggested it. This was wonderful warm from the oven, but I loved it even more the next day at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States