Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This turned out wonderfully moist and absolutely delicious! I doubled the spices and it turned out with a deep dark rich flavor. I used a 9" springform pan and ended up with a nice tall cake. It was done perfectly in about 45 minutes. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I introduced some ingredients changes: molasses > honey; white sugar > brown sugar; water > orange juice and zest; one apple shredded. Very nice, not too sweet, lovely holiday flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
amazing recipe! everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I was so disappointed after reading all the good reviews of this recipe. I followed the recipe meticulously with the exception that I doubled the spices as recommended by other reviewers. The cake was terribly dry and, despite careful attention to the greasing/flouring of the pan, it stuck. In addition to being so dry my kids would only eat it with ice cream, the product does not taste anything like gingerbread. It is more like a spice cake...a dry, dry spice cake. Next time I'll go with the old Betty Crocker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I tripled the ginger, and could have even put in more. Definitely up the spices when you make this! Everyone loved it though. I cooked this the night before and think it dried out a bit over that time before serving: it went from moist to more of a with-coffee-at-breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this for dessert tonight and it was a huge hit. I used 1\2 c prune puree in place of the oil, and doubled the cinnamon and ginger. Everything else was the same. It was very moist even without the oil. Its just about gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Really scrumptious cake - I always put raisins in which works well as adds a sweet contrast to the slight bitterness of the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Delicious! Doubled all spices and pulled a trick I use when baking brownies and chocolate cakes: coffee. Instead of 1 C hot water I used 1/3 C coffee (french roast) from this morning, microwaved, then added 2/3 C hot water. If I had the time I would have made an espresso instead (Dancing Deer - best gingerbread ever - adds espresso powder to theirs). Something about coffee makes complex baked goods taste richer. So coffee, organic unsulphered blackstrap molasses, evaporated cane juice sugar, and double spices make a deep dark moist gingerbread. Like my grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My husbqand loves this cake! He is "hard to please" when it comes to baked goods. I followed others advice and tripled the spices and added 1/2 cup applesauce. The result is great. I will cover this with a powedered sugar orange peel glaze. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Great tasting! The spices are just right and even though we ended up over-baking it (which was entirely our fault), it still turned out really moist inside. It is not overly sweet and the balance of spices is just awesome! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 141-150 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States