Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by MrBojangles288
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very good recipe, the cake came out very moist and had an excellent spiced taste. I would recommend doing a Glaze (1/2 cup powder sugar +2-3 tbsp hot water). It complements the spice flavor real well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
The best gingerbread I ever made. I doubled the ginger though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
this was the first time I ate gingerbread in the form of a loaf and the first time I made it. It seemed like a lot of molasses. I might cut the molasses in half next time. Anyone else find the molasses to be too much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Amazing! As suggested by other reviewers, I doubled the spices--and added a 1/4 cup of applesauce, since I was nervous about adding too much liquid. Made an orange/vanilla glaze, topped with pecans and it was absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
yum excellent. perfect sweetness--not overly sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have made a similar version with 1/3 c cocoa added for a delish chocolate twist :) [I did reduce flour by 1/4 c when I added cocoa tho] I do add 1 tsp ginger for every cup of flour, so this had 2.5 tsp ginger; and I used brown sugar because we don't get molasses and it still tasted great! I've also made it with oil (just reduce the quantity of butter a little because of the water content)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
awesome gingerbread reminds me of a small club I went to outside of philly called Main Point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
a lovely bread/cake as is, but needed double the spices to get a true gingerbread flavour for me. I made my version (a little bit more) diabetic-friendly by substituting Splenda granulated for the sugar, applesauce for the butter, and EggBeaters for the egg. Came out heavy, dense, moist and rich---my favourite kind of gingerbread!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was my first time making gingerbread from scratch. It is airy and cake like than if you were to make an actual dense loaf, although it is also quite moist. I used an 8x11 pan and coated with non stick spray. I would highly recommend using a thick coat of butter and possibly a light dust of flour. The molasses makes the batter very sticky. I read the reviews on doubling the spices after I had already put the pan in the oven. I actually think it has great flavor as is. I think anymore spice would be too over powering. I used the exact measurements of ginger and cinnamon. I don't like cloves so the only change I made was that instead of cloves I used about 1 tbs of Penzey's Cake Spice. (it contains clove and anise and other spices). I baked my bread for about 40-45 minutes in a gas oven. I think 1 hour is too long as my edges were already starting to almost burn. Over all this was a great and easy gingerbread to make in a pinch. I will be putting this into regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This turned out wonderfully moist and absolutely delicious! I doubled the spices and it turned out with a deep dark rich flavor. I used a 9" springform pan and ended up with a nice tall cake. It was done perfectly in about 45 minutes. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States