Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by TotalJen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Excellent gingerbread; although, like many others, I did not make this 'as is.' I needed it gluten free, so I used 1/2 -all purpose gluten-free flour and 1/2 Millet flour instead of regular flour, used 1/4c of applesauce in place of 1/2 the butter, as others did, and 1/4c brown sugar for 1/2 of the molasses (used un-sulfered molasses per other reviewer recommendations), doubled the cinnamon, cloves, and ginger (per other reviewer recommendations), and the rest as is. Baked it in regular loaf pan, for 1 hr 3 minutes so the middle passed the 'knife test', let cool and sprinkled with powdered confectioners sugar, and served still warm...SOOOO good and spicy! Perfect for Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TotalJen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Not enough spice and very dry..will continue my search for the perfect gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJ Kinville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Flavor was great, but it was a bit too dry. I followed other people's suggestion and doubled the spices which was a great choice. Next time I will add more water, butter, and cook less to make it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Per recommendations I doubled the spice and added 3/4 cup of apple sauce. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very nice! I added extra cinnamon and used a little less butter and it came out really good. I'll definitely make one more before Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
We loved this recipe - pure indulgence! Soft and full of molasses and yummy Chrismas spices. I added some more ginger (maybe 2-3 times the amount - but this was based on my taste preference), a dash more cloves, a good dash of nutmeg and a little less sugar - I figured the molasses would make up and it would still be sweet. I baked it in a 9inch springform pan and put some foil paper over it about 30mins into baking time to prevent any burning. It was easy to slide off the springform base and place onto a cake server. I also dusted a light amount of confectioners sugar. I served it warm with a scoop of vanilla bean ice-cream - we live in the South... :-) This is a favorite recipe now and will be made again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Sorry, but I did not care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe and loved it! BUT I did listen to those who did it before me and so I added 1/3 cup sour cream (to make it more moist), used 1/2 cup less four, and added more ginger and spices -cause I like to have a stronger flavor. Ended up giving the (adapted)recipe to people at work because they all wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This gingerbread came out perfect texture and flavor! Thank sooo much for sharing this! it was my first time making a gingerbread and I will certainly do it again! I doubled the spices, used 3/4cup of UNSULPHERED molasses and added 1/2cup of applesauce as suggested by others. I also substituted the 1/2cup of white sugar for 1/2 cup of pure maple syrup and WOW was it incredible! I chose to do this because maple syrup is a better alternative to refined table sugar (easier for the body to break down). Thanks again!!!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Just made this for my family and it came out very nicely. I did add a lil too much ground cloves, but its definitely a easy & tasty recipe next time though I'll remember to make sure I have some powder sugar on hand for garnishing. Love it it came out moist and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States