Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I wound up with a 9X9 brick. In actuality this is a spice/molasses cake that is overcooked. In no way is it a gingerbread cake. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I place pear slices on the bottom of a round pan, sprinkle with candied ginger and then pour the batter on top. After baking, I turn it over so the pears are on top. Once it is cooled, I sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as listed and this does not taste like the homemade gingerbread that i grew up on. It had practically no ginger flavor. Essentially, it tasted like Molasses Bread. I'm afraid to make it with more ginger because I don't know how much more I would need to add to make it taste like gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious! I doubled the ginger and cloves--I was using an extra strong cinnamon so I added about 2/3 tsp extra of that as well. The flavor was rich and delicious--you could SMELL how delightfully spicy this was. I used a pan to make little gingerbread man cakes and it worked beautifully. Am looking forward to making this into a regular sized cake and topping it with whipped cream or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBRARYLADY61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Wish I had read more reviews and this could have been awesome rather than good. I found it had a bit too strong molasses flavour, so I would reduce that a little. I used an 8 inch pan and mine fell in the middle... ?? After 60 minutes, it was overdone and almost burnt on the corners - should have checked it earlier! My guests did enjoy it, though, and asked for seconds. Add whip cream and caramel sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but this had very little flavor, and after baking for an hour was a tad dry. We were unimpressed...Would not make again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
A-. Recipe is good as is, however I baked in a bundt cake pan and 40 mins was sufficient. Any more time and it would've been burnt. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
5stars! Even though I baked it too long. Loved the flavor! Reminds me of brownies. Nice dense texture. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe! I actually used this for cupcakes and it worked wonderfully! I added a half cup of applesauce to make the cake more moist. For a filling, I caramelized some pears (cored the center of the cakes and filled with pears). To top them, I made a marscarpone frosting and finished with a little drop of caramelized pears on top. They were a big hit! I would have given this recipe 5 stars if I didn't have to make an adjustment. I will make this again (i'm sure several times ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was OK...nice and ginger-y after doubling the spices but overall was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States