Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I think there may be an error with the cooking time; one hour seems way too long. Mine came out terribly dry and burnt around the edges. I followed the recipe exactly but added extra cinnamon. I wanted to like it, but it was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I read some other reviewers and took their recommendations; use UNSULPHERED molasses, I doubled and may triple the cinnamon, ginger and clove next time and used 1/2 cup applesauce. I had to bake about 70 minutes which is not unusual for my oven for some reason and it may have something to do with being at 7,500 feet although I am not certain. I did not have applesauce so I put a large apple and some water in a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I think this gingerbread is far too strong with the molasses flavour. The molasses needs to be knocked back to allow the flavours of the spices to fully develop, as it is overpowering. I suggest replacing half the molasses with corn syrup, or simply using a different recipe. A good gingerbread is balanced in flavour, with each of the triad of spices and the molasses playing well together, and allowing for the spices to develop into a nice gingerbread flavour. This recipe does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookiemumster
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I followed the last two reviews' recommendations on doubling the spices, it worked as told. I plan on baking this cake at least once more this season and annually thereafter. Thank you to the owner of this recipe. Yay! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I was really disappointed with this recipe, and after reading the reviews realized that it was because I had used blackstrap molasses. The texture was amazing and it was lovely and moist but I think that it's important to specify in the recipe what kind of molasses should be used for the best result. Blackstrap is vile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was very good! I made it in muffin cups and it was perfectly done in 20 minutes. The husband (and the dogs) really enjoyed this with whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I followed other reviews and doubled the spices, turned out delicious! When it comes to the baking time, I find it's best to cover the cake half way through baking time with tin foil to prevent over-browning. I took the cake out of the oven when the toothpick inserted in the center had a few moist crumbs attached. The cake was fluffy and moist. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Love this recipe. Great warm with whipping cream on top. Always make mine in bunt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minimoss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoyt Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is a good basic recipe but seems to need a lot of revisions. I took the advice of the reviewers and doubled the spices, and used 1 3/4 water. I also used unsulphured molasses as another reviewer recommended. The gingerbread was very moist and had a nice dark color, but was on the bitter side, although my six year old did still like it. Next time we'll reduce the molasses to try and reduce the bitterness (we used the full 1 cup), and will probably try and add a sweet lemon glaze, or cream cheese as others recommended to balance out the taste or something else to balance out (this is not a sweet gingerbread recipe so good if you're looking for something less sweet but some sweetness will be complimentary). Might also consider tripling the cinnamon as one of the reviewers recommended. We did not try the applesauce. We found it was ready in slightly less than 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Why did mine not rise? Flat and gooey in the middle - hard as a rock on the edges. Nice flavor, but serious problem with consistency. Elevation? We are at 6400'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States