Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I did as others suggested and doubled the spices and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. I should have done as one reviewer suggested and not used blackstrap molasses. It was all I had, and I hoped it wouldn't make a difference...but it did. It made the cake very bitter, and I would not use that form of molasses in the future. My husband thinks the cake is fine, and I made it for him, so it's all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Englewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Excellent! I added just a splash of vegetable oil, and doubled all seasonings, except the salt. Tastes great with powdered sugar, whipped cream, or trader joe's cookie butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Supermoist and delicious! I doubled up on the spices as others had suggested, and it is the best gingerbread I have ever had, a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaskedMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is a gingerbread for those who really love ginger bread. Not a flavor that everyone enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Little dry for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
EXCELLENT!! THANK U!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was so yummy! It's light and has a deep flavour. The only thing I changed was to use 2t of ginger, next time I might up it to 3t as we like it strong. I didn't have the right molasses so I made it up with golden syrup and brown sugar, and I didn't have cloves so I used a little allspice instead and it wasn't worse off for the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Great recipe! I used the recipe below and reduced the molasses to about 1/2 and doubled the spices. The end result was absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Great recipe! I also increased doubled the cinnamon and ginger. I agree with some others about cooking time. Mine was perfect at 45 minutes, so be careful with that. Otherwise, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Even better the next day. Did as others suggested, 1 1/2 t. spices and 1/2 C applesauce to keep moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States