Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Really good! -1 star because it did not fit a 9x9"! It looked too full as I filled the pan but I trusted the recipe and now I'm cleaning burnt batter off my oven element. I took suggestions and added 1/2c applesauce to the wet ingredients and doubled the spices. It really is a delicious, spongey, moist and flavorful cake. I'll be making it again... in a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious. I made this as a dessert for Thanksgiving, and added homemade whipped cream on top. I added a little more cinnamon & ginger, but this is a great recipe to begin with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by KramerGirls
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I thought this recipe was great as is. I made it exactly as written except I bake it in cupcake pans. I baked them for about 15 minutes. They were mild, moist, and enjoyed by everyone who tried them. This recipe will enter my tried-and-true collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KramerGirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made the recipe as listed and holy molasses! Overwhelming molasses flavor. I made it again, used 1/2 cup molasses and 1/2 cup brown sugar and it was much sweeter and less intense. I also upped the cinnamon to 1 1/2 teaspoons and the ground ginger to 3 teaspoons. It was a much bigger hit in my home this time. My pregnant wife ate the whole loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and as another reviewer stated, I started checking at 45 minutes and mine was ready after about 50 minutes. It is very moist with great flavor. Now I know that gingerbread isn't about ginger, it is about molasses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Great little cake. I doubled the spices, next time I will triple them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
May have been a rookie mistake on my part but the 1 hour bake time seemed a bit much. the cake a bit dark on the edges, I used a glass baking pan which may require a different cook time, temperature. also the previous posting on the type of molasses should be noted. I found the cake to be more of a molasses taste and less a ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I've been looking for a gingerbread recipe like my Mom's for a while now, and this is it! I doubled the spices and it was AMAZING! I only had to cook it for 23-27 mins though as opposed to the hour it states in the recipe. I'd recommend this to ANYONE! Throw some cool whip on top when it's just a little warm and it's AMAZING! The whole family loved it! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Delicious! I have always loved gingerbread but never tried to make my own. I LOVE this recipe. It's exactly the right taste and texture --moist but still cakey. The only thing I did was increase the ginger a little since all the other reviews suggested it. This was wonderful warm from the oven, but I loved it even more the next day at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This really is easy to make and delicious!I didn't have enough molasses so I used dark corn syrup as well. I also added some grated ginger.I invited the neighbors over to sit out the storm and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States