Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Excellent gingerbread! I served with cinnamon whipped cream and sliced bananas! Heaven on earth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awesome cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This recipe was a rockstar. Simple easy and full of flavour in my opinion. I had a number of compliments on it. I will make it again for its easiness and great flavour! I used a smaller pan 8x8 still worked out great. I didn't bake it the full time either...just 45 or 50 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This recipe reminded me of the recipe my mom used in the 40's, very delicious. I added the 1/2 cup applesauce like a couple of the gals recommended, unfortunately I didn't decrease the water. The center of the cake didn't get done, just the outer edges. (I baked it 10 minutes longer too) If I make it again, I'll decrease the water to 1/2 cup. It was very moist and I double all the spices except the cloves. Do not double the cloves, it gets much too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I found it bland and disappointing since I wanted to sink my teeth into moist but dense gingerbread. It lacked the intensity I was looking for. I did add chocolate at the end as a marble effect one poured into the tin. Maybe black treacle instead of molasses would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Easy to make but somewhat bland. I like flavorful, robust food and am not afraid of a little spice. In keeping with other reviewer's suggestions, I added extra cinnamon and ginger plus added nutmeg. The end result is quite good but not the rich, zesty gingerbread I was hoping for. Also, I had no problem with the bake time. I checked it after 45 minutes but it wasn't done all the way so I baked it for the recommended hour and it came out fine. I might make this again because of how easy it is to prepare but I will keep searching for a recipe that yields the strong gingerbread flavor that I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This turned out amazing. The only changes that I made was I added an extra teaspoon of ginger and cinnamon. I also added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg. I made it for church and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missygail

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This recipes is a keeper! I added 1/2 cup of applesauce and doubled the spices and it was beautiful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Chittick Robichaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was very good! I made some changes to make it lower in fat. I used 1/2 corn oil and 1/2 applesauce instead of butter. I didn't have any molasses so I used lite pancake syrup. I also used dark brown sugar instead of white. I doubled the spices as suggested by another member and I agree that it needed it. I also agree to bake it for 45 minutes instead of 1 hour. It was perfectly moist enough. It sliced up beautifully. I topped it with my own recipe for a spiced drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
used Splenda & heaped the spices-Jerry loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I have tried many recipes on this site and this is the 1st one I have felt compelled to review. Absolutely fantastic! have made this 3 times in 2 weeks, (husband keeps taking some into work for his mates) only suggestion is to double up on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States