Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Great, traditional gingerbread cake. Dense and flavorful. I had to use 8x8 pan and it still turned out great, nice and thick. Will bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Per previous reviews, I doubled the spices and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also did not set the timer for 1 hour and then walk away. I checked the cake from time to time until it was just about done and then took it out. This is absolutely delicious!!! My only frustration with it is that, as written, the cake overflows the pan. Maybe it's my altitude; I don't know. So instead of a lovely gingerbread smell filling my house, it smells like a campfire. :) Nevertheless, the gingerbread comes out tasting like Christmas and making you crave more. My recommendation is to use a 9X13 instead of a 9-inch square pan if you find that the batter comes almost all the way to the top of the pan. If I need to double the recipe, I'm not sure what I'll use that's larger than a 9X13 and deep enough, but it will definitely be worth finding out. This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This was absolutely, positively delicious. I doubled the spices. The whole house smelled incredible. And, the taste after it came out of the oven--scrumptious! Thanks for the recipe! This may become a holiday classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe almost exactly, but slightly increased the spices. Moist and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I made this after reading the suggestions!! I doubled the ginger and cinnamon, used real butter, and added a 1/2 cup of applesauce!! I'm making it again today!! Just came over here for the recipe!!! And it is better if you make it a day ahead!! more mellow! I just put whipped topping on it!! no need for sauces! they just take away from the wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This was great, very moist, though I did use the suggestions for adding applesauce and doubling the spices. It kept very. well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Carr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsons, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe is so good! I used half of it as a base for a ginger and orange trifle. We ate the rest on it's own. It's so moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Good place to start. So glad I found this recipe. Followed suggestions and added a couple of my own. Added the 1/2 c applesauce + 2 Tbs oil. Used the mild unsulphered molasses. Spices - 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 Tbs ginger, 1.5 tsp cloves. Makes a huge difference to use brand name spices like McCormick! The generic store brands just don't have that robust kick. Also used a bundt pan in a 350 oven for 50 mins. Perfect! Let cool then dump out. Also added 1 Tbs cocoa for a deeper color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Tried this recipe for a group of about 50 kids and 5 adults and only one person didn't like it.(And that person just didn't like molasses.) I personally loved it and I will definitely make it again! I added a teaspoon of vanilla, two pinches of nutmeg and a very thin layer of powdered sugar on top before baking, but otherwise I stuck to the recipe, besides a reduction of 2 minutes in cooking time. Amazing recipe and a very good take on one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I just baked this tonight and the smell as it was baking was wonderful. The taste is just what a gingerbread cake should be. I didn't change a thing, made it like the recipe stated. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States