Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe. Followed it to a tee except went heavy on ginger...1 tablespoon. Added a little extra of the other spices too. We like it spicy!! Added a teaspoon of nutmeg! Wonderful!!! The house smelled wonderful my husband said I have to make one everyday to make the house smell that good! My nine year old loved it too. Sprinkled it with powdered sugar and served it with whipped cream! This was my first gingerbread but I won't be trying any other recipes...this one nails it!! Easy, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Delicious and easy. I used 1/2 cup of canola oil in place of the butter and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
My husband went wild over this one. It's quite heavy [I don't own a sifter] and has a strong flavor, but you KNOW you have eaten gingerbread! I made a lemon/powdered sugar glaze to put over it. On the other hand, my grandson didn't like it. Probably the strong taste of molasses. Still, I will make it again! A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANNYFARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Made this nostalgic gingerbread for a gathering of 35 home school kids. Out of the 35 only three didn't care for it. Since molasses has a rather strong taste I was a bit surprised that so many kids loved it, but it brought requests for seconds! Several Mom's asked for the recipe which I gladly shared. I made 3 slight changes. I added about 3 T home made applesauce, 1/4 C sour cream and added a bit more of each spice. I baked this in 2 medium loaf pans, sliced when cool and then sprinkled with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Heavenly. A pleasure to make, to watch cook and to eat. I've never tasted gingerbread where the flavours were light but still rich. I'm slowly building a holiday recipe list and I KNOW that this is one that will have everyone praising my baking skills. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I have made this 3 times already this season, rave reviews each time. I have made it in a bundt cake pan, and only bak efor about 45 min. I then top with a cream cheese frosting (when it's cooled) and sprinkle with chopped cran berries. It's a hit everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Moore Lutz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Tasted wonderful, especially with custard. Reminds of the ginger cake we used to get a school. Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billingham, Durham, England, U.K.
Living In: Stockton-On-Tees, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I didn't change a thing and I loved it. It is exactly like the recipe I made as a young girl. Aunt Rosas' Gingerbread, the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Very good. It wasn't as moist as I had expected but that could have been my oven's fault. We added whipped cream on top which made it perfect. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGOHANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The aroma alone is well worth 5 stars. I used Splenda, added 1/2 cup applesauce and doubled the spices. I used a 9" square baking pan, oven temp set at 350 and the gingerbread was perfecttly done in 35 minutes. I can see whay other reviewers complained of the gingerbread being dry and suggested adding applesauce for extra moistness. So, be sure to check for doneness after 35 minutes or it could be way overbaked at 60 minutes. This will definitely be a recipe I use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States