Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is a very dense gingerbread, just what I was looking for. The only thing I changed was I increased the spices a bit as we like things a bit spicer. I found this recipe to be plenty moist but I didn't cook it quite as long as the recipe called for, only about 45 minutes, but that could just be my oven. This cake gets better with age so make it a couple of days before you need it, the flavours seem to mellow. I served it with warm brandy sauce for our family dinner and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Made this nostalgic gingerbread for a gathering of 35 home school kids. Out of the 35 only three didn't care for it. Since molasses has a rather strong taste I was a bit surprised that so many kids loved it, but it brought requests for seconds! Several Mom's asked for the recipe which I gladly shared. I made 3 slight changes. I added about 3 T home made applesauce, 1/4 C sour cream and added a bit more of each spice. I baked this in 2 medium loaf pans, sliced when cool and then sprinkled with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I changed the cinnamon and ginger to 2 tsp. and the cloves to 1 tsp. Flavor is excellent but next time I will add 1/2 c. applesauce to add a little moisture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The aroma alone is well worth 5 stars. I used Splenda, added 1/2 cup applesauce and doubled the spices. I used a 9" square baking pan, oven temp set at 350 and the gingerbread was perfecttly done in 35 minutes. I can see whay other reviewers complained of the gingerbread being dry and suggested adding applesauce for extra moistness. So, be sure to check for doneness after 35 minutes or it could be way overbaked at 60 minutes. This will definitely be a recipe I use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe. Followed it to a tee except went heavy on ginger...1 tablespoon. Added a little extra of the other spices too. We like it spicy!! Added a teaspoon of nutmeg! Wonderful!!! The house smelled wonderful my husband said I have to make one everyday to make the house smell that good! My nine year old loved it too. Sprinkled it with powdered sugar and served it with whipped cream! This was my first gingerbread but I won't be trying any other recipes...this one nails it!! Easy, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Delicious and easy. I used 1/2 cup of canola oil in place of the butter and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I thought this was delicious. I doubled the spices and took it out of the oven 5 minutes early (usually they are more moist that way). I would try adding applesauce to give it more moisture. I see a lot of reviews that say the molasses taste is too strong. I tasted the cake right after baking and thought so too. But after I left it overnight, the flavor mellowed out and it's perfect! Using a bundt cake pan would probably make it even more attractive. Try it warmed up with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Loved this. Delicious, moist and easy to make. Will be making this again soon. 1 hr baking time is to long. Mine was done in 40 mins. (good thing i checked on it!) it would have been overbaked and dry if i kept it in there for the entire 1 hr. Will be making this again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I don't normally rate recipes, but felt compelled to grade this one.. 'cause, honestly, it was like trying to eat a molasses brick. Despite following the recipe exactly and cooking in a properly working oven, the crumb and crust were not tender and the cake, as a whole, was far too dense. The molasses overwhelmed the other flavors, although that could be 'cause I used Brer Rabbit full flavor style ( I do love molasses!). Will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
i liked this gingerbread. it was very simple to put together and bake. my guests enjoyed as well. i served it along side a pumpkin dip and it acted as a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States