Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Too Salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Delicious and easy. I used 1/2 cup of canola oil in place of the butter and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
My husband went wild over this one. It's quite heavy [I don't own a sifter] and has a strong flavor, but you KNOW you have eaten gingerbread! I made a lemon/powdered sugar glaze to put over it. On the other hand, my grandson didn't like it. Probably the strong taste of molasses. Still, I will make it again! A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANNYFARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Made this nostalgic gingerbread for a gathering of 35 home school kids. Out of the 35 only three didn't care for it. Since molasses has a rather strong taste I was a bit surprised that so many kids loved it, but it brought requests for seconds! Several Mom's asked for the recipe which I gladly shared. I made 3 slight changes. I added about 3 T home made applesauce, 1/4 C sour cream and added a bit more of each spice. I baked this in 2 medium loaf pans, sliced when cool and then sprinkled with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Heavenly. A pleasure to make, to watch cook and to eat. I've never tasted gingerbread where the flavours were light but still rich. I'm slowly building a holiday recipe list and I KNOW that this is one that will have everyone praising my baking skills. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe. Followed it to a tee except went heavy on ginger...1 tablespoon. Added a little extra of the other spices too. We like it spicy!! Added a teaspoon of nutmeg! Wonderful!!! The house smelled wonderful my husband said I have to make one everyday to make the house smell that good! My nine year old loved it too. Sprinkled it with powdered sugar and served it with whipped cream! This was my first gingerbread but I won't be trying any other recipes...this one nails it!! Easy, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I don't like to give a bad review unless it is really really bad. But this gets 1 star. We like gingerbread, but I don't know what happened with this recipe, it was so bad i threw the whole batch right into garbage while it was still warm! I followed recipe to a T but it tasted really awful. Very flat and left bad after taste. It was moist but the flavor wasn't like gingerbread. It may have been the cook but i won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I don't normally rate recipes, but felt compelled to grade this one.. 'cause, honestly, it was like trying to eat a molasses brick. Despite following the recipe exactly and cooking in a properly working oven, the crumb and crust were not tender and the cake, as a whole, was far too dense. The molasses overwhelmed the other flavors, although that could be 'cause I used Brer Rabbit full flavor style ( I do love molasses!). Will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
i liked this gingerbread. it was very simple to put together and bake. my guests enjoyed as well. i served it along side a pumpkin dip and it acted as a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I changed the cinnamon and ginger to 2 tsp. and the cloves to 1 tsp. Flavor is excellent but next time I will add 1/2 c. applesauce to add a little moisture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States