Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Not very spicey, also almost burned. Would reduce time and add even more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
3 points: 1. I used whole spices (except ginger) and ground them fresh for the recipe; the amounts given were very good and the results flavorful. But I can see pre-ground spices would be very bland, in the amounts given. 2. the seasoning was OK, but not well rounded. The second time, I added 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper and 1 Tbl orange zest. Much better. In the future, I'll also add a 1/4 tsp orange essence or oil. 3. Pan size is all wrong. The batter filled 9" square pan within 1/2" of the rim. I scraped it into a 9"x13" pan and it still baked up 2" thick. (Of course, the recipe does call for an unusually large amount of leavening; a more normal amount would be 1/2 tsp soda.) I had no problem with dryness, which I find interesting considering the larger pan and how frothy the batter is. FYI, I baked it 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I added more spices and not quite as much molasses as it called for. It was good but next time I think I'll make it with a brandy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Excellent, just the right texture and taste. I followed the advice of other reviewers and doubled the spices and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Amazing!!!! I followed others word of advise and added 1/2 c apple sauce, and I also used brown sugar instead of white to combate any dryness. I made mini loaves the first time around and baked fo exactly 20 min. and they were perfect. Drizzled w/ an oj glaze, my friends all begged for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Lots of people keep saying this is dry- it's because of the butter. Try making it without butter and instead using 1/4 c. vegetable oil and 1/4 applesauce. It is delicious and very moist this way. If you have apple butter on hand, that's an even better option than applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This turned out great. I think I was feeling reckless while making it, because I added probably 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt and a bit of almond extract for no good reason at all. But it's delicious! I also took suggestions and added more of all the spices, and also added nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeyLaurel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was a easy recipe and it was PERFECT! Husband and brother 2 thumbs up. I always review before making and I tried a cup of hot coffee instead of water and doubled the spices and 40 mins cooking time. Wonderful.. already in my recipe book!!! Thank you very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Just made this for my husband who recently had heart surgery and is very conscious about what he eats. He loves gingerbread and ginger snaps and I wanted to make him something he liked but felt OK about eating. The changes I made were to increase the spices (esp the ginger) as others have mentioned, replaced the sugar with Splenda and the flour with King Arthur's whole wheat flour. He loves it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLEGABLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I really wanted this to come out perfect but it ended up being dry baked for an hour... I should have read the other reviews but I was actually letting my 13 year old help me bake this... It smelled so heavenly while baking, we served with whipped cream and a dash of cinnamon on top! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States