Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made this for my Christmas dinner. It was just as a remembered gingerbread from years gone by. Very flavorful and wonderful texture. I served it with lemon curd and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I doubled the spices as suggested and the flavor was very good. It was quite dry however and I prefer a moister gingerbread so this recipe isn't quite what I was seeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This gingerbread recipe is WONDERFUL... dense and flavorful and exactly the way my grandma used to make it! Like other reviewers I also doubled up on the spices, and only cooked it for 45 minutes in a loaf pan... it was perfect. I'll never search for another gingerbread recipe again, this one is IT! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Perfect dense gingerbread- just cook it only 35-40 minutes. I have made this many times and it has never come out dry and I don't add applesauce. I do add extra spices though because we prefer it that way. I have made this many times and love it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Made exactly as recipe stated and baked for one hour. It is dry overall and crusty on the top. It is edible but would need some changes to be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made this with double the cinnamon and ginger. cut the water by a 1/4 cup and replaced with oil. Baked in a bundt for 45 minutes. Cake came out moist and full of flavor. Was better the next day, still moist. Great warm with coffee. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written and found the spice quantities perfect for us. I have learned that most spice cake recipes taste better the next day after the spices have had the time to meld and develop. If you don’t like molasses, this may not be the recipe for you however. The next time I make it I will reduce the baking time and start checking the cake starting at 45 minutes. The cake had a great texture but was a little dry which could be my oven, not the recipe. The added bonus of making this recipe - the house smells phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Pumpkin! I've made this several times and loved it, but my favorite batch was when I added just over 1/2 cup pumpkin to it. The pumpkin makes it so nice and moist as well as gives it a firm texture. I doubled the spices with the pumpkin and it is just right. I will definitely add pumpkin every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Not sure if I did something wrong here but it was WAY too sweet and sickly tasting. If I was to make again I would definitely cut the molasses down by half. It was also very dry. Maybe it's just not the recipe for me, as I can see so many other people liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I doubled the cinnamon and ginger but followed the rest of the recipe. I baked in an 8x8 pan but it only took about 45 minutes. Very strong, spicy taste and not too sweet, so if that's your thing, you'll love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States