Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This was way too dry for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Absolutely delicious love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I was totally disappointed. I dont know if the texture was too watery or what?! It came out pf the oven, looked good and i cooled it for 20 mins and as i turn it it started to deflate and it all crumbled up so upset!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Gail
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Very good, kids gobbled it all up kept asking for more! I messed up on the measurements a little and added 1/2 cup of milk to it and used a bread pan. Will try harder next time to keep with exact recipe. I will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Gail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Something happened! The batter was a bit salty, not overwhelmingly so, but it didn't have the sweet taste I expected! Any advice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Really good recipe. I baked it as it read. Heated it a bit in microwave and served it with a caramel sauce and fresh whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made this a few days ago, I didn't expect much because I don't have much experience with making gingerbread. I went a bit heavy on the spices. My only problem was that I burned it a bit on the edges, which was my own fault for using a slightly larger pan and not checking on it enough (ended up being done in 45 minutes instead of 60). I thought it was quite good and my mom even said she liked it, which is rare with my cooking, haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Great Spice Cake, I added 1/2 cup of raisins,1/2 tea nutmeg,1/2 all spice,extra cinn. cream cheese frosting , baked 41 mins @350 and it turned out really nice, I used a bundt pan. I left everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I love molasses, but this cake came out tasting only like molasses, IMO. Granted, my oven is off, but this baking time was waaaay too long in my glass pan. (no metal cake pans on hand) I was hoping for a moist quick-bread type of cake, and it wasn't. Everyone else really enjoyed it, but it wasn't my best dessert effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My cake was done in 40 mins. I also doubled the spices, quite tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States