Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I made this as written so I could give it a fair review, it was a decent cake but I wholeheartdly agree that 1 hour was WAY too long mine was done in 45 minutes, and it needs more ginger and spice to get more of a gingerbread flavor. I made a simple glaze of butter and powdered sugar. Next time I may use brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I used half oil and half butter which made the texture great. However, the molasses taste is too strong for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara B.
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Made this recipe exactly as written, and it was fantastic! Delicious warm with a dollop of whipped sweetened cream and just as good the next day served with applesauce. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is excelent gingerbread very moist watch how long you cook it, could be why some people thought it was dry. I cooked for about 15 min less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe was the best I have even made. I gave it for Christmas gifts and everyone loved it. I even had a woman ask me to made her extra loafs to give her bridge club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I didn't have enough molasses, so I ended up using only about 1/2 cup, maybe a little more. I also added some leftover canned pumpkin, about 1/2 cup. I baked mine for about 40 minutes. It turned out great, very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is a very dense gingerbread, just what I was looking for. The only thing I changed was I increased the spices a bit as we like things a bit spicer. I found this recipe to be plenty moist but I didn't cook it quite as long as the recipe called for, only about 45 minutes, but that could just be my oven. This cake gets better with age so make it a couple of days before you need it, the flavours seem to mellow. I served it with warm brandy sauce for our family dinner and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The aroma alone is well worth 5 stars. I used Splenda, added 1/2 cup applesauce and doubled the spices. I used a 9" square baking pan, oven temp set at 350 and the gingerbread was perfecttly done in 35 minutes. I can see whay other reviewers complained of the gingerbread being dry and suggested adding applesauce for extra moistness. So, be sure to check for doneness after 35 minutes or it could be way overbaked at 60 minutes. This will definitely be a recipe I use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Very good. It wasn't as moist as I had expected but that could have been my oven's fault. We added whipped cream on top which made it perfect. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGOHANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I didn't change a thing and I loved it. It is exactly like the recipe I made as a young girl. Aunt Rosas' Gingerbread, the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States