Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was an easy recipe and my family loved it!! I changed the recipe by doubling it, then only using 1/2 the butter and subbing 1/2 c applesauce for the other half of the butter and I used 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of the other spices. It was delicious served with a dollup of fresh whipped cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGreen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Great gingerbread. Subbed olive oil for the butter and sliced some ripe pears that I layered on the bottom of the pan. Served with sweetened whipped cream. Yummy and the smell in the house was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Fairly good, but a little plain by itself. I made it with a lemon sauce and the sauce really perked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was A-mazing. Seriously. Moist and good for days! My family isn't a big ginger fan, so even omitting the ginger this was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Excellent gingerbread! I served with cinnamon whipped cream and sliced bananas! Heaven on earth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awesome cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This recipe was a rockstar. Simple easy and full of flavour in my opinion. I had a number of compliments on it. I will make it again for its easiness and great flavour! I used a smaller pan 8x8 still worked out great. I didn't bake it the full time either...just 45 or 50 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This recipe reminded me of the recipe my mom used in the 40's, very delicious. I added the 1/2 cup applesauce like a couple of the gals recommended, unfortunately I didn't decrease the water. The center of the cake didn't get done, just the outer edges. (I baked it 10 minutes longer too) If I make it again, I'll decrease the water to 1/2 cup. It was very moist and I double all the spices except the cloves. Do not double the cloves, it gets much too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I found it bland and disappointing since I wanted to sink my teeth into moist but dense gingerbread. It lacked the intensity I was looking for. I did add chocolate at the end as a marble effect one poured into the tin. Maybe black treacle instead of molasses would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Easy to make but somewhat bland. I like flavorful, robust food and am not afraid of a little spice. In keeping with other reviewer's suggestions, I added extra cinnamon and ginger plus added nutmeg. The end result is quite good but not the rich, zesty gingerbread I was hoping for. Also, I had no problem with the bake time. I checked it after 45 minutes but it wasn't done all the way so I baked it for the recommended hour and it came out fine. I might make this again because of how easy it is to prepare but I will keep searching for a recipe that yields the strong gingerbread flavor that I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This turned out amazing. The only changes that I made was I added an extra teaspoon of ginger and cinnamon. I also added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg. I made it for church and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missygail

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States