Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I really wanted this to come out perfect but it ended up being dry baked for an hour... I should have read the other reviews but I was actually letting my 13 year old help me bake this... It smelled so heavenly while baking, we served with whipped cream and a dash of cinnamon on top! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Loved this. Delicious, moist and easy to make. Will be making this again soon. 1 hr baking time is to long. Mine was done in 40 mins. (good thing i checked on it!) it would have been overbaked and dry if i kept it in there for the entire 1 hr. Will be making this again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
this was delicious and moist. Very easy recipe to follow. you can't mess this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was an easy recipe and my family loved it!! I changed the recipe by doubling it, then only using 1/2 the butter and subbing 1/2 c applesauce for the other half of the butter and I used 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of the other spices. It was delicious served with a dollup of fresh whipped cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGreen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Great gingerbread. Subbed olive oil for the butter and sliced some ripe pears that I layered on the bottom of the pan. Served with sweetened whipped cream. Yummy and the smell in the house was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Fairly good, but a little plain by itself. I made it with a lemon sauce and the sauce really perked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was A-mazing. Seriously. Moist and good for days! My family isn't a big ginger fan, so even omitting the ginger this was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Excellent gingerbread! I served with cinnamon whipped cream and sliced bananas! Heaven on earth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awesome cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This recipe was a rockstar. Simple easy and full of flavour in my opinion. I had a number of compliments on it. I will make it again for its easiness and great flavour! I used a smaller pan 8x8 still worked out great. I didn't bake it the full time either...just 45 or 50 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This recipe reminded me of the recipe my mom used in the 40's, very delicious. I added the 1/2 cup applesauce like a couple of the gals recommended, unfortunately I didn't decrease the water. The center of the cake didn't get done, just the outer edges. (I baked it 10 minutes longer too) If I make it again, I'll decrease the water to 1/2 cup. It was very moist and I double all the spices except the cloves. Do not double the cloves, it gets much too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States