Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made this recipe into cupcakes instead of one cake. As a special treat, when the cupcakes were cool, I inserted a small solid chocolate in each. I topped each off with whip cream. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Great gingerbread cake, got rave reviews from friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Great recipe!!! I doubled the spices per other reviews. I cut the amount of butter in half and added a half-cup of applesauce. It came out moist and tasty. I was done in 50 minutes. My friends really liked it. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walled Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very adaptable recipe! Instead of flour I used Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free flour and 1 1/4 teaspoons of xanthan gum. I also doubled the spices using a coffee grinder to grind my whole cloves into powder. My friends were amazed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very, very good. Thumbs up from my husband and kids. So much better than a box mix, and very easy and quick to make. Excellent when warmed and topped with whipped cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Followed recipe and it is not good - I have never made gingerbread before, so to be fair if you like gingerbread then maybe it is a good recipe for you. But for our family... it tasted like straight molasses, it had an after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennpivnick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very nice! I love this recipe. I did alter it slightly; I doubled the cinnamon and ginger and added 1/2 cup apple sauce. It turned out with great flavor and was very moist. I will serve it with cinnamon whipped cream at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemony

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very easy to make! Replaced butter with 1/2 cup applesauce, replaced white sugar with brown sugar and it turned out very moist and perfect! used 9 inch loaf pan, 45 minutes. Topped with cream cheese frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is the easiest & best gingerbread!! I used an 8x8 glass pan & 1 hr. was just right. I will for sure make this again; my husband gave it 5 stars, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is very similar to my Irish grandmother's recipe. She used dark brown sugar in place of the white and always swore the "secret" was to use one cup of very strong, black tea, instead of plain old water. I've used Chai tea, steeped well, with great success. The added flavor from the tea gave it a bit of a spicier kick. For a moister, denser cake, I use 1/4 butter and 1/4 low-fat sour cream instead of 1/2 cup butter. Overall, still my favorite "gingerbread" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States