Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I took some advice and tweeked this recipe just abit and it was scrumdidlyumpious. I gave it a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I LOVE gingerbread and couldn't wait to give this a try. I didn't have quite enough molasses for the recipe, but I think the full amount would be WAY too much - the molasses flavor was a bit strong. I really enjoyed the gingerbread though. It seems to be an acquired taste, as none of my family or friends wanted to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Charles, thank you for a delicious recipe. It was a hit at a wine & cheese party. W
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made this recipe into cupcakes instead of one cake. As a special treat, when the cupcakes were cool, I inserted a small solid chocolate in each. I topped each off with whip cream. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Great gingerbread cake, got rave reviews from friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Great recipe!!! I doubled the spices per other reviews. I cut the amount of butter in half and added a half-cup of applesauce. It came out moist and tasty. I was done in 50 minutes. My friends really liked it. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walled Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very adaptable recipe! Instead of flour I used Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free flour and 1 1/4 teaspoons of xanthan gum. I also doubled the spices using a coffee grinder to grind my whole cloves into powder. My friends were amazed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very, very good. Thumbs up from my husband and kids. So much better than a box mix, and very easy and quick to make. Excellent when warmed and topped with whipped cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Followed recipe and it is not good - I have never made gingerbread before, so to be fair if you like gingerbread then maybe it is a good recipe for you. But for our family... it tasted like straight molasses, it had an after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennpivnick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very nice! I love this recipe. I did alter it slightly; I doubled the cinnamon and ginger and added 1/2 cup apple sauce. It turned out with great flavor and was very moist. I will serve it with cinnamon whipped cream at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemony

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States