Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Baking time of one hour appears to be a typo. Checked 3 other similar recipes that gave time as 30-to-35 minutes. I baked for 42 minutes and the cake was well done and a little too well done on the outer edges. The cake was still very tasty with good old-fashioned spicy flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious! Perfect dessert for the holidays with a bit of whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made this for my Christmas dinner. It was just as a remembered gingerbread from years gone by. Very flavorful and wonderful texture. I served it with lemon curd and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I doubled the spices as suggested and the flavor was very good. It was quite dry however and I prefer a moister gingerbread so this recipe isn't quite what I was seeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This gingerbread recipe is WONDERFUL... dense and flavorful and exactly the way my grandma used to make it! Like other reviewers I also doubled up on the spices, and only cooked it for 45 minutes in a loaf pan... it was perfect. I'll never search for another gingerbread recipe again, this one is IT! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Perfect dense gingerbread- just cook it only 35-40 minutes. I have made this many times and it has never come out dry and I don't add applesauce. I do add extra spices though because we prefer it that way. I have made this many times and love it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Made exactly as recipe stated and baked for one hour. It is dry overall and crusty on the top. It is edible but would need some changes to be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made this with double the cinnamon and ginger. cut the water by a 1/4 cup and replaced with oil. Baked in a bundt for 45 minutes. Cake came out moist and full of flavor. Was better the next day, still moist. Great warm with coffee. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written and found the spice quantities perfect for us. I have learned that most spice cake recipes taste better the next day after the spices have had the time to meld and develop. If you don’t like molasses, this may not be the recipe for you however. The next time I make it I will reduce the baking time and start checking the cake starting at 45 minutes. The cake had a great texture but was a little dry which could be my oven, not the recipe. The added bonus of making this recipe - the house smells phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Pumpkin! I've made this several times and loved it, but my favorite batch was when I added just over 1/2 cup pumpkin to it. The pumpkin makes it so nice and moist as well as gives it a firm texture. I doubled the spices with the pumpkin and it is just right. I will definitely add pumpkin every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States