Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I used Crisco instead of butter and I omitted the cloves (we don't care for them), added 11/2 tsps of the ginger and cinnamon as we like it spicier. I only baked it for 30 mins in a 9x13 pan and it was perfect moist and spicy. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was VERY GOOD! My 8 y/o especially liked it. I made it exactly according to recipe. Only alteration was baking time. I set timer for 45 min, but it was a bit overbaked. I would recommend starting to check for doneness at 30-35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This cake came out very good. I changed a few things- used canola oil instead of butter (I was out). I needed to replace the egg because of an allergy, so I used 1/4 cup applesauce mixed with 1 teaspoon of baking powder, set aside to activate and then added when the egg was supposed to be added. I followed one reviewer's suggestion of using a cup of hot chai tea instead of plain hot water. The cake only baked for 45 minutes and that was almost too long. Nice flavor and came up nice and spongy- in my opinion, the perfect cake texture! Tasted great warm with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I have never been a huge molasses fan, but this cake was delish. I used a 1/2 C of canola oil versus butter and I used an 8x8 pan. I baked it for an hour exactly and it turned out great! I tried a little bit the night I baked it and the flavor is definitely better the next day. More mellow and the flavors have all mingled together, plus the texture is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Baking time of one hour appears to be a typo. Checked 3 other similar recipes that gave time as 30-to-35 minutes. I baked for 42 minutes and the cake was well done and a little too well done on the outer edges. The cake was still very tasty with good old-fashioned spicy flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious! Perfect dessert for the holidays with a bit of whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made this for my Christmas dinner. It was just as a remembered gingerbread from years gone by. Very flavorful and wonderful texture. I served it with lemon curd and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I doubled the spices as suggested and the flavor was very good. It was quite dry however and I prefer a moister gingerbread so this recipe isn't quite what I was seeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This gingerbread recipe is WONDERFUL... dense and flavorful and exactly the way my grandma used to make it! Like other reviewers I also doubled up on the spices, and only cooked it for 45 minutes in a loaf pan... it was perfect. I'll never search for another gingerbread recipe again, this one is IT! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Perfect dense gingerbread- just cook it only 35-40 minutes. I have made this many times and it has never come out dry and I don't add applesauce. I do add extra spices though because we prefer it that way. I have made this many times and love it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States