Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Very good. It wasn't as moist as I had expected but that could have been my oven's fault. We added whipped cream on top which made it perfect. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGOHANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I didn't change a thing and I loved it. It is exactly like the recipe I made as a young girl. Aunt Rosas' Gingerbread, the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Tasted wonderful, especially with custard. Reminds of the ginger cake we used to get a school. Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billingham, Durham, England, U.K.
Living In: Stockton-On-Tees, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I thought this was delicious. I doubled the spices and took it out of the oven 5 minutes early (usually they are more moist that way). I would try adding applesauce to give it more moisture. I see a lot of reviews that say the molasses taste is too strong. I tasted the cake right after baking and thought so too. But after I left it overnight, the flavor mellowed out and it's perfect! Using a bundt cake pan would probably make it even more attractive. Try it warmed up with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I have made this 3 times already this season, rave reviews each time. I have made it in a bundt cake pan, and only bak efor about 45 min. I then top with a cream cheese frosting (when it's cooled) and sprinkle with chopped cran berries. It's a hit everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Moore Lutz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I didnt care for this recipe at all. It was bitter. Maybe too much molasses. The texture was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I changed the cinnamon and ginger to 2 tsp. and the cloves to 1 tsp. Flavor is excellent but next time I will add 1/2 c. applesauce to add a little moisture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
i liked this gingerbread. it was very simple to put together and bake. my guests enjoyed as well. i served it along side a pumpkin dip and it acted as a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I don't normally rate recipes, but felt compelled to grade this one.. 'cause, honestly, it was like trying to eat a molasses brick. Despite following the recipe exactly and cooking in a properly working oven, the crumb and crust were not tender and the cake, as a whole, was far too dense. The molasses overwhelmed the other flavors, although that could be 'cause I used Brer Rabbit full flavor style ( I do love molasses!). Will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I don't like to give a bad review unless it is really really bad. But this gets 1 star. We like gingerbread, but I don't know what happened with this recipe, it was so bad i threw the whole batch right into garbage while it was still warm! I followed recipe to a T but it tasted really awful. Very flat and left bad after taste. It was moist but the flavor wasn't like gingerbread. It may have been the cook but i won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States