Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made this a few days ago, I didn't expect much because I don't have much experience with making gingerbread. I went a bit heavy on the spices. My only problem was that I burned it a bit on the edges, which was my own fault for using a slightly larger pan and not checking on it enough (ended up being done in 45 minutes instead of 60). I thought it was quite good and my mom even said she liked it, which is rare with my cooking, haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Great Spice Cake, I added 1/2 cup of raisins,1/2 tea nutmeg,1/2 all spice,extra cinn. cream cheese frosting , baked 41 mins @350 and it turned out really nice, I used a bundt pan. I left everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I love molasses, but this cake came out tasting only like molasses, IMO. Granted, my oven is off, but this baking time was waaaay too long in my glass pan. (no metal cake pans on hand) I was hoping for a moist quick-bread type of cake, and it wasn't. Everyone else really enjoyed it, but it wasn't my best dessert effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My cake was done in 40 mins. I also doubled the spices, quite tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Great, traditional gingerbread cake. Dense and flavorful. I had to use 8x8 pan and it still turned out great, nice and thick. Will bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Per previous reviews, I doubled the spices and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also did not set the timer for 1 hour and then walk away. I checked the cake from time to time until it was just about done and then took it out. This is absolutely delicious!!! My only frustration with it is that, as written, the cake overflows the pan. Maybe it's my altitude; I don't know. So instead of a lovely gingerbread smell filling my house, it smells like a campfire. :) Nevertheless, the gingerbread comes out tasting like Christmas and making you crave more. My recommendation is to use a 9X13 instead of a 9-inch square pan if you find that the batter comes almost all the way to the top of the pan. If I need to double the recipe, I'm not sure what I'll use that's larger than a 9X13 and deep enough, but it will definitely be worth finding out. This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This was absolutely, positively delicious. I doubled the spices. The whole house smelled incredible. And, the taste after it came out of the oven--scrumptious! Thanks for the recipe! This may become a holiday classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe almost exactly, but slightly increased the spices. Moist and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I made this after reading the suggestions!! I doubled the ginger and cinnamon, used real butter, and added a 1/2 cup of applesauce!! I'm making it again today!! Just came over here for the recipe!!! And it is better if you make it a day ahead!! more mellow! I just put whipped topping on it!! no need for sauces! they just take away from the wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This was great, very moist, though I did use the suggestions for adding applesauce and doubling the spices. It kept very. well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsons, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States