Favorite Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I enjoyed this recipe. Tried to upload a photo, but it wouldn't let me for some reason. I made this as an appetizer to our main course, Creamy Burrito Casserole. I didn't measure my torn romaine lettuce; I just bought a 10 oz. bag of Hearts of Romaine, and used the whole thing. I also substituted shredded cheddar cheese with shredded Mexican cheese. I didn't rinse or drain the ranch style beans; just dumped it in. Otherwise, I followed the directions exactly. (I try to take the easy approach on most things.) I admit, everyone loved it! However, next time, I plan on adding 1 more cup of cheese, 1 more cup of corn chips, and at least another 1/4 cup of Catalina dressing. However, this combination is spectacular! Wouldn't want to add anything else to this. It did take me about 35 minutes to make; I made it while my casserole was in the oven. This recipe is also good enough to just be dinner. Both my roommate and I agreed we would enjoy making just this and having it for dinner one night. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Been making this for (seems like) 100 yrs! One of my favs for a family get-together and most seem to LOVE it. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrill Pecere

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
REALLY GOOD Make sure you get corn chips. I was not familiar with them so I had to ask. They are good for this.. Catalina good and easy. Make as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Yeah it was good. Not worth 5 stars for us. Easy and quick though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
The Catalina dressing is a nice change from the typical dressing used on taco salads. I’m not a Frito's fan and if I made this again, I would go with plain corn chips. Very easy to toss together and quite filling as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I am puzzled by the photograph. It looks like crumbled feta or goat cheese mixed in with the other ingredients. What am I seeing? I plan to made the recipe as written this week. I'll rate high in anticipation of being informed and pleased. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This was an excellent pot luck salad. My only complaint is that after a couple of hours the fritos get mushy so it needs to be served promptly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Not only is this salad visually stunning, it tastes Incredible ! ! O M G!! I only had Bushes mesquite baked beans in the house so I used those. And this IS after all a Mexican salad so I used queso fresco in place of the cheddar. The tortillas chips with a hint of lime settled right into the nicely as well:) Now I can't remember the time when I bought Catalina dressing, if ever, but man did it go Fan fricken tastic in this super Summer salad!!! Please!! give this salad a go at your next get together, potluck, bbq. This IS a keeper!! Thanks so much LWoods111:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I found myself in a pinch for a side dish to go with a Mexican casserole, and I had almost all these ingredients on hand (was missing the avocado). My son and his wife LOVED it! I did, too! I have made it twice since and will serve it again tomorrow--I'm hosting a work party with 20+ guests and it will be the main side to go alongside the entree! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I took this to a dinner party and it was a big hit ! I will definitely make this again ! It's a "keeper" !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States