Favorite Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
It's not necessary to use a pressure cooker - I used a pyrex 4 quart pot and heavy lid. I recommend using 1 tbs of cumin and 1 tsp of pepper. The final appearance leaves a bit to be desired and might benefit by the addition of some chopped red peppers added along with the parsley just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
This is now my favorite soup recipe. It's great for lunch on cold winter days. I don't use a pressure cooker just a regular soup pot, I also use a little extra cumin and garlic. After a day in the fridge I also find that I need to add more water as it tends to get quite thick. All in all, very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This soup is going to be a staple at my house as the weather gets colder. Served with a loaf of fresh French bread...can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This was really good. I chopped up a few tomatoes and added them at the end. I also didn't use onion soup mix because I was too lazy to go to the store and get it. It was still great. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This is some good lentil soup.. I would on ly suggest reducing black pepper to 1/4 tsp... I spicy food but the black pepper flavor in the soup was still a little strong. This recipe is a great use for a package of Onion soup mix!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
My soup didn't come out so well. It was really really thick. In fact I think I made lentil hummus. Can anyone tell me what might have gone wrong? The flavor was good my it just was not soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I won't rate because I made quite a few changes. First of all, I sauteed the onions with paprika and a crushed garlic clove in olive oil. After 10 minutes, I added them to the lentils and covered with water in a normal saucepan. I checked often to add more water, and simmered 15 minutes on low/med heat. Then I added the onion mix with 1 1/2 cup of water, & simmered 10 mn. I served with toasted bread and cubed cheddar. I didn't put any lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I was scaling this recipe down to 2 servings, so I didn't see any point in opening a whole thing of dry onion soup mix just to use a 1/4 of it. Instead, I cooked the lentils in vegetable broth. I left out the olive oil and used some leftover green onion (again, didn't want to use 1/4 of a regular onion) that I threw in at the end of the cook time. My red lentils soaked up the broth within 20 minutes (didn't use a pressure cooker), so I added 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup skim milk when I added the lemon juice. I used 1/2 tbsp of dried parsley and went a bit heavier on the black pepper. Overall, this was a pretty quick lunch. Not something I'd want to eat over a few days, but as a one time midday meal, it was good (and healthy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe! I've used it a few times, although I normally add more cumin and use a saucepan instead of a pressure cooker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This soup is really yummy. The only change I made was to add a bit of chopped jalapeno peppers for a wee bit of zing. TO SOLA, who rated on 7 Aug 05: YOU CHANGED ABOUT 99% OF THE INGREDIENTS AND THEN SAID IT WASN'T SOMETHING YOU WANT TO EAT OVER A FEW DAYS...AND YOU GAVE IT 4 STARS. ---> For crying out loud, if you change just about every ingredient in the entire recipe, DO THE DECENT THING AND DON'T RATE IT DOWN!! I couldn't believe you did that when I read the reviews. Geez!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States