Favorite Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Very good flavour but was extremely thick. I browned the onions in oil first and covered lentils with 4 cups of water in pressure cooker. Added 2 cups broth in stock pot but still too thick to call it soup. I'll probably look for a different recipe next time I want lentil soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
i had to add about 2 cups of veggie broth because, following the recipe exactly, it was way too thick, but it came out fantastic!!! definitely making this at least every other week until next spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Really good, really easy to make. I didn't need a pressure cooker either. I added cayenne instead of black pepper and cilantro instead of parsley, and I added the cilantro at the same time as the onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was good, but the onion soup mix made it way too salty for me! My teens liked the fact that they didn't have to add salt to their serving! I added a chopped carrot, and garnished this with salad burnette. Next time, I'll have to make my own onion soup mix, and leave out the salt for my liking this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neicie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This soup is really yummy. The only change I made was to add a bit of chopped jalapeno peppers for a wee bit of zing. TO SOLA, who rated on 7 Aug 05: YOU CHANGED ABOUT 99% OF THE INGREDIENTS AND THEN SAID IT WASN'T SOMETHING YOU WANT TO EAT OVER A FEW DAYS...AND YOU GAVE IT 4 STARS. ---> For crying out loud, if you change just about every ingredient in the entire recipe, DO THE DECENT THING AND DON'T RATE IT DOWN!! I couldn't believe you did that when I read the reviews. Geez!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe! I've used it a few times, although I normally add more cumin and use a saucepan instead of a pressure cooker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I was scaling this recipe down to 2 servings, so I didn't see any point in opening a whole thing of dry onion soup mix just to use a 1/4 of it. Instead, I cooked the lentils in vegetable broth. I left out the olive oil and used some leftover green onion (again, didn't want to use 1/4 of a regular onion) that I threw in at the end of the cook time. My red lentils soaked up the broth within 20 minutes (didn't use a pressure cooker), so I added 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup skim milk when I added the lemon juice. I used 1/2 tbsp of dried parsley and went a bit heavier on the black pepper. Overall, this was a pretty quick lunch. Not something I'd want to eat over a few days, but as a one time midday meal, it was good (and healthy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I won't rate because I made quite a few changes. First of all, I sauteed the onions with paprika and a crushed garlic clove in olive oil. After 10 minutes, I added them to the lentils and covered with water in a normal saucepan. I checked often to add more water, and simmered 15 minutes on low/med heat. Then I added the onion mix with 1 1/2 cup of water, & simmered 10 mn. I served with toasted bread and cubed cheddar. I didn't put any lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States