Favorite Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by longtab
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this casserole for Thanksgiving 2006 and it was a pretty big hit. Here are the changes I did to it: I added shredded Montery Jack to warm the mouth a bit, added some frozen white beans, and after mixing in the french fried onions I covered the top with even more. Next time I believe I will use frozen french cut green beans to give it a more traditional look. BTW... The pimentos were a big hit! Even my wife liked the dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by longtab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I found this nice and solid but not special enough to be "the one" recipe for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I loved it! My husband said that it was too much pepper, but i thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Morrilton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This was an easy recipe which is great for beginners or a quick fix. My mother in law's recipe is much better than this so unfortunately, I am comparing this to something I've already had. Maybe needs butter? Husband and kids say a three also. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
The addition of the pimentos is a MUST. Awesome! Thanks Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Mine came out very soupy. I'm not sure how I could goof up a green bean casserole, but I did. I'll try it again, someday, when the pain wears off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Very good, but it would have been better a little bit creamier. But everybody seemed to like them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This was extremely easy to make and it tasted wonderful! My boyfriend doesn't like green beans but loved this recipe. The french onions give it a nice crunchy flavor which contrasts nicely with the cream of mushroom soup. I do not eat meat but the french onions sprinkled made me feel like I was eating bacon bits (probably just me though). Anyway, great recipe, definitely a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This would've been fine except that I ran out of black pepper so I had to season it with "garlic pepper salt" mix, making it a bit too salty for my taste. Still, a good recipe that uses basic ingredients, and the pimentos look very festive. A suggestion: add sliced black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was great, easy to make, and delicious. Definite regular in my Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States