Favorite Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This is a really yummy cake for all the family...not very chocolatey actually, but it was moist and delicious. The day after making it, we sliced it down the middle, put some pieces of high quality chocolate in the centre, put it in the microwave for 30 seconds until the chocolate pieces melted and then we ate it like a sandwich. The taste was incredibly decadent and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This was the first cake I've ever made and it turned out great! i used semi-sweet chocolate since one review said it wasn't chocolately enough. it could have been a bit more moist (maybe add some oil next time?) according to my husband, but everyone else thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I made this for my husband for Father's Day, and used a chocolate frosting recipe I found on this site that used cream cheese and baker's chocolate and put candied mint-leaves on top. I think it's really really good! The cake is very rich and moist! I've got the leftover cake in the refrigerator and if you put a slice in the microwave for 20 seconds, and top with ice cream, it's delicious. The frosting microwaves well because of the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
The cake was ok but too dry. The flavor was fine but the texture ruined it for me. I served this at my son's birthday party and I was not pleased. I doubled the recipe but I doubt that would have affected the outcome... ps - I put chocolate chips between the layers and that was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This cake was too dry. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
this was the first cake i ever made from scratch...it turned out great...i also suggest using semi-sweet chocalate bars and using about 2 oz. thats what i used and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I made this into cupcakes, and they turned out really well. For me, at least, the batter turned out really thick, almost like chocolate mousse (and was really yummy!) I baked the cupcakes at 350 for about 15 minutes. They were not overly sweet, which worked well with the super-sweet frosting we put on top. We'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Used a 13x9 pan, and baked for 50 min total. Delicious, and everyone enjoyed it :). Because some said it was dry, and I'm in deserty Colorado, added 2 egg yolks and 1/2 cup yogurt and 1 cup chocolate chips. Made icing with butter, cocoa, p. sugar and Bailey's Irish Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielle terese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This cake was awesome I made it for my Grandma's 71st birthday and it was a big hit. But it was just a tad dry no one noticed but I did. I put some chocolate frosting on it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was a great recipe. I didn't have bakers chocolate, SO instead I used hersheys natural cocoa powder mixed with the amount of water recipe indicates and a tablespoon extra of butter. This cake is not super chocolaty as I thought, it is sutble. perfect with some white whipped frosting and sliced strawberrys. It was a major hit , I am definatly making this cake again. btw i chose to use all natural and organic ingredients. although that doesnt change the calorie intake it is gratifying knowing I am not eating hydrogenated dye filled food. Kudos to this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States