Favorite Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Candace Gallagher
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Perfection, exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Wow! I've been using a recipe EXACTLY like this for the past 6 years!!! I also use the same recipe to make mini-pies to pass out as thank you treats to teachers & friends around thanksgiving. Everyone raves about it. If the pie is jiggly /runny, cover the pie with foil and let it bake longer. The bourbon flavor mellows out, and makes this pie even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Total Disaster. Rating based soley on the outcome I would give this 1 star. But to be fair, I don't know if it was such a disaster because maybe I did something wrong? First of all, the recipe calls for a 9" deep dish pie crust. The filling however, only filled up about 1/2 inch of the pie dish. While cooking, it "rose" up to about halfway up the crust, but once it came out and cooled, it deflated down to maybe just 1/4 inch of filling. And what little there was, tasted awful, very eggy and not yummy at all. The only change I made to the recipe was that I used brandy instead of bourbon (all I had on hand). What I am wondering is that I used egg beaters instead of whole eggs. Would that have made such a huge difference? I am hesitant to even attempt this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was ok. Had a strong bourbon taste that I didn't care much for, but it came out looking very pretty and set very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Easy & great tasting! Had to cook 30 minutes. It also lasts without turning watery after a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was a really good and EASY Bourbon Pecan Pie recipe. My ugly picture with my horrible looking pie crust (but, it tasted good!) doesn't do this pie justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was okay. I was born and raised in Georgia and ours was much more flavorful. Needs more butter and bourbon taste which I will add the next time I make this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner, & Oh My! What an outporing of compliments did I get! This pie is seriously delicious. Thank You Kimberley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
20 some years ago I came across an elderly southern lady's recipe for Bourbon Pecan Pie. This is the exact same recipe, and I can tell you after baking this pie for 20+ years that it is without a doubt the best pecan pie there is. If you want a fancy presentation, take your pecans and arrange them in the pie crust. Press them down slightly. Then add your liquid. The nuts will rise to the top during baking leaving a professional appearance. I have only done this a few times when I really wanted a WOW presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
The bourbon adds a really nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Militant Guacamole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States