Favorite Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My husband adores this pie. You can definitely taste the bourbon, so if you don't like the taste of bourbon this is not for you. After making this several times, I have decreased the pecans to 1 1/2 cups. I know it's a pecan pie, but I thought the amount of pecans was overwhelming. So glad I found this recipe. I've made it 4 times in the last 6 weeks and passed it down to my sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Wonderful! I recommend coarsly chopping your pecans as opposed to halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This pie is pure heaven! It is the best pecan pie I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Pecan pie is my husband's favorite so it's a holiday tradition in this family. WOW, do we have a new favorite recipe with which to carry on that tradition! The bourbon cuts down on the pie's natural sweetness and is the perfect amount for our tastes. A winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candace Gallagher
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Perfection, exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Wow! I've been using a recipe EXACTLY like this for the past 6 years!!! I also use the same recipe to make mini-pies to pass out as thank you treats to teachers & friends around thanksgiving. Everyone raves about it. If the pie is jiggly /runny, cover the pie with foil and let it bake longer. The bourbon flavor mellows out, and makes this pie even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Total Disaster. Rating based soley on the outcome I would give this 1 star. But to be fair, I don't know if it was such a disaster because maybe I did something wrong? First of all, the recipe calls for a 9" deep dish pie crust. The filling however, only filled up about 1/2 inch of the pie dish. While cooking, it "rose" up to about halfway up the crust, but once it came out and cooled, it deflated down to maybe just 1/4 inch of filling. And what little there was, tasted awful, very eggy and not yummy at all. The only change I made to the recipe was that I used brandy instead of bourbon (all I had on hand). What I am wondering is that I used egg beaters instead of whole eggs. Would that have made such a huge difference? I am hesitant to even attempt this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was ok. Had a strong bourbon taste that I didn't care much for, but it came out looking very pretty and set very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Easy & great tasting! Had to cook 30 minutes. It also lasts without turning watery after a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was a really good and EASY Bourbon Pecan Pie recipe. My ugly picture with my horrible looking pie crust (but, it tasted good!) doesn't do this pie justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States