Favorite Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jms3125
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made this pie with a few adjustments. I used dark corn syrup because that's what I had and a few shakes of cinnamon. It took much longer to bake than instructed. I continued baking in 10 minute increments until the center was firm but bouncy, the pecans were nicely browned and the center temp of the pie was 200 degrees. It was absolutely delicious. Next time I'll double the bourbon and add even more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Didi3324
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Excellent. This was a super easy to make pecan pie and it was a success for thanksgiving. Hubby will never eat pecan pie from the store ever again. He loved it. It was a little watery after 35min in the oven so I let it bake for another 10mins and it was good after that. Will definitely keep making it going forward!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this last night on a lark. More of a cook than a baker. Love anything I do not have to drag out the mixer for. Takes 5 minutes to put together. I like pecan pie but before this one the only kind I was able to find was sickenly sweet or hard as a rock. This recipe conquers both problems. The bourbon flavor mellows wonderfully during the baking so it is distinct but not overwhelming. The filling is viscous but not too dense. My husband loved it - I use a gluten free crust so he could eat it. This is going to be my go-to holiday dessert from now on. Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is the exact recipe I have used every year for 25 years except for two things---a teaspoon of vanilla and I use dark corn syrup. I don't know how anyone could mess this pie up (one poster stated it was a disaster). It comes out perfect every time and if you really want to kick it up a notch, add chocolate chips. Fabulous, rich, decadent and so worth the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This recipe was delicious - my son said it was the best pecan pie he has ever had!!! I did cook it for an 10 extra minutes though. People that wrote reviews that this recipe was awful or didn't turn our right should not be allowed in the kitchen to wash dishes, much less cook.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I didn't have any bourbon so I used Brandy. It redefined the word AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this as one of our Christmas desserts. I wasn't impressed or pleased with the result. I followed the recipe exactly and used a better bourbon. I had to bake it longer than stated and the pie was runny and the bourbon over-powered. When I make my normal go-to pecan pie recipe there is never any left. After my company had left I had over half of this pie. I put it in the freezer as we were going out of town for a week and just pulled it out last night to try it. It did freeze well, but we decided we just don't care for this recipe. Unfortunately I will be throwing away half of a pecan pie and I hate wasting food; especially food that was expensive to make (pecans are not cheap).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe completely , truthfully not something I commonly do, it did turn out pretty and smelled great, the bourbon seemed a little strong though. I'm not sure what kind of bourbon other people used, but I had "Buffalo Trace Kentucky Strain Bourbon", perhaps a different kind would have made it better. Next time I'll most likely stick with old fashion pecan pie bourbon free. However it was worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
In stead of bourbon I used Disaronno(Amaretto) this taste amasing!! like pecan pie married sweet. caramel/butterscoth/butter!!!!!! try you will be astonished!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Great recipe! I did make a few changes, left out the sugars, butter, syrup, eggs, crust, etc.......bourbon was a great help while preparing a huge Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States