Favorite Black Walnut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Love this recipe. However I changed a few things. I skipped the forming logs and refriderating part. I pre-heated the oven to 375 instead of 350, dropped 12 teaspoon size portions unto the cookie sheet and baked at 10 min. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
it is not as i imaged but the result is a pretty good cookie. i like crispy cookies so i baked them a little longer. at the beginning i tasted the baking soda, but soon it is gone. next time i may skip the baking soda, because beat the butter and sugar can create air in the cookies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Made these cookies last year. Super easy and everyone complimented them. I'm sure they will be a hit with everyone again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I followed as specified except for the butter, I used shortening hoping it would be more crumbly. The taste is just blah. This is just not a very good cookie recipe & I had high hopes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The recipe was ok, but not as good as others I have tried. There was too much sugar and it overpowered the distinct taste of the black walnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe..not the best but none the less very yummy. I found 3 cups of flour seemed to dry it out slightly and it took me a long time to roll the dough into rolls. I am a sucker for black walnut anything so this caught my eye. Personally for me I would have like a little more black walnut flavor...maybe a teaspoon of black walnut flavoring? I will still continue to search for yet a better/easier one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These were wonderful! No changes at all are needed. They are crisp and not too sweet. I cooked one batch and left the rest of the dough rolled up in the refrigerator. Tonight I pulled it out and made another fresh pan of cookies. Definitely a winner. These can obviously be made ahead of time and cooked right before serving. 12-24-2010 A friend of mine made these and substituted margarine for the butter. They did not come out as well, were not as crisp and the flavor was different. It is important, especially when baking, to use the same ingredients. Butter makes cookies crisper and allows the baker to make a more delicate cookies, thinner and crisper without baking them brown. She and I remade them and compared the two side-by-side. It was really a different recipe. Also, bring the eggs and butter to room temperature before creaming them, but do not microwave the butter to get it runny. It changes the way that it mixes with the sugar and eggs and you will not get the result that you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was a most appreciated recipe. My husband and I collected black walnuts from three trees in our neighborhood. We hulled the nuts, cured them, cracked them, chopped them, and put them into this recipe. I'd never before experienced the taste of black walnuts (very different from English walnuts). Maybe I loved the taste so much because of all the work we put into preparing the nuts. This recipe, however, was easy to make, and the resulting cookies were quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I give this 5 stars only because I used regular walnut meats instead of black walnuts. Easy recipe and my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Black walnuts are my favorite nut, and these cookies turned out wonderfully both times I made them. They really showcase the unique nutty flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brinker1975
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States