Favorite Barbecue Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Very sweet. I simmered my sauce much longer on a very low heat and it brought out the onion flavor. With so much sugar it burns easily on the grill. It would be better to brush the chicken with oil, grill and baste with sauce at the end. Will mince the onion and reduce the honey slightly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I also just baked this. I was worried about the sauce because of other reviews and when I tasted it prior to putting on the chicken, I choked because of the strong vinegar presence. But somehow when it baked, it didn't bug me anymore. The chicken was moist all the way through and my 3 year old (who refuses to eat meat usually) ate a whole breast all on her own! I will make it again, it's not a lot of work and we don't eat bottled BBQ sauce... but few can top this one anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snailcarnival

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I made a few changes based on what I had. I sprayed my crock pot with coconut oil. I chopped in half red potatoes , sprinkled with garlic salt oregano and lemon pepper. Layered bottom of crock pot with potatoes. Browned skin on bone in chicken thighs (coz that's what I had). Made sauce exactly but I used red onion, less brown sugar and a Trollope of Dijon and woodsy. It would be a five if I had grilled it as poster had written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcie Numan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Made this for friends tonight and everyone loved it. I wouldn't change the recipe at all. I cooked 8 chicken breast and tripled the sauce recipe. It was enough to baste a couple of additional times as I turned the chicken while cooking. Already emailed the recipe to our friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was a big hit in my house. I am not a fan of barbecue sauce, but, I thought this one was pretty good because it had a nice tang and didn't use molasses. My husband loved it though! It was quick and easy to get together. I did have to simmer my sauce for about 15 minutes to get the consistency I wanted. I also didn't add the chicken back to the pan because I didn't have a pan that could go on the grill. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Our family loves this. We've done it exactly as stated in recipe and we've chosen to just cook it completely on grill. Both tast great. Finishing it on the skillet does make it totally amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This was outstanding, Not spicy, but sweet like I like it! I was out of worcestershire sauce, and it doesn't taste like it is missing anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
add cornstarch to thicken the sauce. no need to heat the sauce. just pour over the chicken and bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Finally, a new recipe I actually like. Just a warning to anyone making this... The sauce initially smells pretty disgusting, at least it did to me and my kids. I was sure this was going to be gross but pleasantly surprised at how good it turned out to be . The chicken blackens on the BBQ if it's too hot so make sure you have it on a low setting. I cooked the chicken breasts on the grill for 14 minutes (7 on each side) and then 8 minutes (4 on each side) in the stove. The chicken was overcooked so I would only cook it 10 max on the BBQ and then another 10 on the stove. Great dish and my kids loved it. Definitely a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My husband really liked this! Instead of dipping chicken in sauce first, I put the chicken on my foreman grill about 5-7 mins, then into sauce snd back to grill another 10 and finally back in the skillet. To make it an Asian bbq all u need is fresh ginger and red pepper flakes, yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States